Annie Murray Books In Order

Birmingham Books In Order

  1. Birmingham Rose (1995)
  2. Birmingham Friends (1996)
  3. Birmingham Blitz (1998)

Narrowboat Girl Books In Order

  1. The Narrowboat Girl (2001)
  2. Water Gypsies (2004)

Chocolate Girls Books In Order

  1. Chocolate Girls (2003)
  2. The Bells of Bournville Green (2008)
  3. Secrets of the Chocolate Girls (2022)

Hopscotch Summer Books In Order

  1. A Hopscotch Summer (2009)
  2. Soldier Girl (2010)
  3. All the Days of Our Lives (2011)

Sisters of Gold Books In Order

  1. Sisters of Gold (2018)
  2. The Silversmith’s Daughter (2019)


  1. Orphan of Angel Street (1999)
  2. Poppy Day (2000)
  3. Miss Purdy’s Class (2005)
  4. Family of Women (2006)
  5. Where Earth Meets Sky (2007)
  6. Papa Georgio (2012)
  7. My Daughter, My Mother (2012)
  8. The Women of Lilac Street (2013)
  9. Meet Me Under the Clock (2014)
  10. War Babies (2015)
  11. Now The War Is Over (2016)
  12. The Doorstep Child (2017)
  13. A Wartime Secret (2017)
  14. Mother and Child (2019)
  15. Girls in Tin Hats (2020)
  16. Black Country Orphan (2021)


  1. Poppy Day / Birmingham Rose (2003)
  2. Orphan Angel / Narrowboat (2004)
  3. Family of Women / Miss Purdy’s Class (2007)
  4. Birmingham Rose / Where Earth Meets Sky (2011)


  1. Christmas Fireside Stories (2014)

Birmingham Book Covers

Narrowboat Girl Book Covers

Chocolate Girls Book Covers

Hopscotch Summer Book Covers

Sisters of Gold Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Omnibus Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Annie Murray Books Overview

Birmingham Rose

Audio CD, Macmillan Audio Books

Birmingham Blitz

The third novel in Annie Murray’s ‘Birmingham’ series. While Genie’s father is away fighting in World War II, her mother has a ruinous affair which leaves her pregnant; Genie’s little brother leaves, never to return; while Genie herself meets a man who then disappears to war.

The Narrowboat Girl

This is an absorbing tale of adventure and true love. Young Maryann Nelson is devastated at the loss of her beloved father. But worse is to come when her mother, Flo, sees an opportunity to better herself and her family in a marriage to the local undertaker, Norman Griffin. Though on the surface a caring family man, Norman is not at all what he seems, as Maryann and her sister Sal soon discover. Unable to turn to their unsympathetic mother for support, the girls are left alone with their harrowing secret. But for Sal, it is too much to bear…
The chance of a new life opens up for Maryann when she befriends Joel Bartholomew. Aboard his narrowboat, the Esther Jane, she finds herself falling in love with life on the canal as she is swept away from Birmingham and all her worries. Until Joel’s feelings for Maryann begin to change, awakening all the old nightmares that she had thought were long buried, and in panic and confusion she takes flight…

Chocolate Girls

Three very different women work together at Cadbury’s Bournville factory, and their lives become entwined by war and work and a child called David. Edie, the main character, marries young to escape her unhappy family home. Widowed at 19 and, after losing her child from the marriage, she faces the war grieving and lonely. Then one night during the Blitz, an infant mysteriously abandoned during the bombing is handed into her care…
Ruby, meanwhile, doesn’t want to be left behind in the wedding stakes and settles for marriage with Frank. Finally there’s Janet, kind hearted and susceptible to male charm, who is hurt desperately by an affair with a married man. David, the child who steals Edie’s heart as she brings him up through a time none of them will ever forget, is the love of all their lives. And when David is old enough to wonder who he really is, he leads Edie through struggle and heartache to a life and love she would never have dreamed of…

The Bells of Bournville Green

Pretty seventeen year old Greta has never known a stable family life. With no father, and loathing her mother Ruby’s latest boyfriend, Greta finds life hard at home and is happiest at work with her friends at the Cadbury factory in Birmingham where she is popular with the boys. Life takes a turn for the worse when her missing vixen of a sister Marleen turns up during the freezing winter of 1962. Greta soon decides that her only way out is marriage, but all too soon she discovers that life with her old class mate Trevor is not a ticket to freedom and happiness. She finds herself on the streets, pregnant and homeless…
She is taken in by her mother’s old friends, Edie and Anatoli Gruschov. In Anatoli, Greta finds the father she has never had. Kindly Edie loves to mother people and is desperately missing her son David and his family who have settled in Israel. But the love and security of this haven is soon shattered by appalling tragedy, which affects all the chocolate girls and their children and changes life forever…
Continuing the saga begun in ‘Chocolate Girls’, and set in 1960s Birmingham, this is a story of families whose lives are entwined, of belonging and loss…
and of a young woman’s search for transforming love.

Poppy Day

Jessica Hart’s beloved mother has died in childbirth and her stepmother and father are forcing her to marry the dull local blacksmith. She runs away from her country home to Birmingham, arriving late one night on the doorstep of her poverty stricken aunt’s tiny terraced house, already home to her four cousins. Ned, a family friend, comes calling one day and he and Jessica fall for each other immediately. But Ned is married and his young wife is expecting a baby…
Annie Murray’s uplifting saga set during the Great War is a moving story of love, remembrance and ultimately of healing. ‘Full of warmth and domestic detail which inspires the reader. Annie Murray brings her characters vividly to life.’ Denise Robertson.

Miss Purdy’s Class

In the New Year of 1936, Gwen Purdy, aged 21, leaves her home to become a schoolteacher in a poor area of Birmingham. Her parents are horrified, but her fiance, recently ordained in the Church of England, supports the idea. Her early weeks in Birmingham come as an eye opener: at the school she faces a class of fifty two children, some of whose homes are among Birmingham’s very poorest. One of the teachers, the elderly Miss Drysdale, becomes an inspiration, and Gwen begins to understand the appalling hardships endured by the children as she is drawn into their lives. Little Lucy Fernandez is a ‘cripple’ and an epileptic. Through her, Gwen meets Daniel Fernandez, the elder brother in a fatherless household. The family has roots in Wales’ small Spanish community, and Daniel is a young man as passionate and fierce in his emotions as in his social conscience. Gwen falls in love, and is soon embroiled in his battle to win rights for the working clas*ses. As the Brigades are mobilized to fight the Spanish Civil War, Gwen has to face the fact that Daniel has secrets in his past which she would rather not face up to…

Related Authors

Leave a Comment