Anne Holt Books In Order

Selma Falck Books In Publication Order

  1. A Grave for Two (2018)
  2. A Necessary Death (2020)

Vik & Stubø Books In Publication Order

  1. Punishment/What Is Mine (2001)
  2. The Final Murder (2004)
  3. Death in Oslo (2006)
  4. Fear Not (2008)
  5. What Dark Clouds Hide (2012)

Hanne Wilhelmsen Books In Publication Order

  1. Blind Goddess (1993)
  2. Blessed Are Those Who Thirst (1993)
  3. Death of the Demon (1995)
  4. The Lion’s Mouth (1997)
  5. Dead Joker (1999)
  6. No Echo (2000)
  7. Beyond the Truth (2003)
  8. 1222 (2007)
  9. Odd Numbers (2015)
  10. In Dust and Ashes (2016)

Selma Falck Book Covers

Vik & Stubø Book Covers

Hanne Wilhelmsen Book Covers

Anne Holt Books Overview

Punishment/What Is Mine

One afternoon after school, nine year old Emilie doesn’t come home. After a frantic search, her father finds her backpack in a deserted alley. it is the backpack her deceased mother had given her a month before she died. Emilie would never leave that backpack behind voluntarily. A week later, a five year old boy goes missing. And then another.
Meanwhile, Johanna Vik, a former FBI profiler with a troubled past and a difficult young daughter, is buried in crimes of the past, trying to overturn a decades old false murder conviction. Police Commissioner Stubo has personal reasons for wanting to solve the case of the missing children: not long ago he lost his wife and only daughter in a terrible accident, and now all he has left is his young grandson. But when he tries to enlist Johanna to help him crack the case, she’s resistant. However, when the bodies of the missing children start appearing in their family’s homes with notes that say, ‘You got what you deserved,’ Johanna decides to help Stubo.

While the rest of the Norwegian media is out hunting pedophiles, Stubo and Johanna manage to uncover a complex story of revenge. A singularly clever crime story combined with a serious discussion of children and our responsibilities towards them, What is Mine is the first installment in the the Stubo/Johanna crime series. Stubo and Johanna from one of the most original crime solving teams ever.

The Final Murder

All over Oslo, celebrities are turning up dead in the most macabre of situations: a talk show host with her tongue cut out, a politician crucified with a copy of the Koran stuffed up her private parts, a literary critic stabbed in the eye. It’s clear that the killer seeks some sort of retribution, but for what?

Adam Stubo and Johanna Vik, recently new parents, are reluctantly drawn into the investigation. As Stubo leads the inquiry, Johanna is exhausted by the new baby. But she is haunted by a pattern she discovers from a time long ago when she was in the FBI, a time she has tried to forget…
and time is running out to stop the killer from completing this chilling series of murders.

Blind Goddess

From the internationally acclaimed author of 1222 comes the suspenseful tour de force that started it all the unforgettable debut of Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen in a stunning literary skein of corruption, drugs, and murder. Norwegian author Anne Holt has become one of the hottest writers of dark, sophisticated mystery fiction in the world today. Blind Goddess is the international bestseller that introduced readers to the brilliant and enigmatic Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen, whose fascinating evolution over eight books lies at the heart of the series success. Blind Goddess opens with the discovery of a dead drug dealer on the outskirts of the Norwegian capital of Oslo. Within days Hansa Larsen, a lawyer of the shadiest kind, is found shot to death, and police officers H kon Sand and Hanne Wilhelmsen establish a link between the two crimes. The case is soon complicated by seemingly unrelated developments, including a coded message hidden in the murdered lawyer’s apartment, ominous rumors from the drug underworld, and a Dutch suspect found wandering confused and bloodied in central Oslo who refuses to talk to anyone but an obscure civil lawyer. As the officers investigate, they uncover a massive network of corruption involving the highest level of government whose exposure may well get them killed.


From Norway’s bestselling female crime writer comes a suspenseful locked room mystery set in an isolated hotel in Norway, where guests stranded during a monumental snowstorm start turning up dead. A TRAIN ON ITS WAY to the northern reaches of Norway derails during a massive blizzard, 1,222 meters above sea level. The passengers abandon the train for a nearby hotel, centuries old and practically empty, except for the staff. With plenty of food and shelter from the storm, the passengers think they are safe, until one of them is found dead the next morning. With no sign of rescue, and the storm continuing to rage, retired police inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen is asked to investigate. Paralysed by a bullet lodged in her spine, Hanne has no desire to get involved. But she is slowly coaxed back into her old habits as her curiosity and natural talent for observation force her to take an interest in the passengers and their secrets. When another body turns up, Hanne realizes that time is running out, and she must act fast before panic takes over. Complicating things is the presence of a mysterious guest, who had travelled in a private rail car at the end of the train and was evacuated first to the top floor of the hotel. No one knows who the guest is, or why armed guards are needed, but it is making everyone uneasy. Hanne has her suspicions, but she keeps them to herself. Trapped in her wheelchair, trapped by the storm, and now trapped with a killer, Hanne must fit the pieces of the puzzle together before the killer strikes again.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment