Inspector Armand Gamache Books In Order

Inspector Armand Gamache Books In Order

Inspector Gamache Books In Publication Order

  1. Still Life (2005)
  2. Dead Cold / A Fatal Grace (2006)
  3. The Cruellest Month (2007)
  4. A Rule Against Murder / Muder Stone (2008)
  5. The Brutal Telling (2009)
  6. Bury Your Dead (2010)
  7. A Trick of the Light (2011)
  8. The Beautiful Mystery (2012)
  9. How the Light Gets In (2013)
  10. The Long Way Home (2014)
  11. The Nature of the Beast (2015)
  12. A Great Reckoning (2016)
  13. Glass Houses (2017)
  14. Kingdom of the Blind (2018)
  15. A Better Man (2019)
  16. All the Devils Are Here (2020)
  17. The Madness of Crowds (2021)

Who is Inspector Armand Gamache?

Inspector Armand Gamache is the protagonist of a series of murder mysteries by Canadian author Louise Penny.

The Inspector Armand Gamache Series of novels by Louise Penny is based in the village of Three Pines.

Three Pines village does not exist in the real world but was created by Penny as a place where “the love of life is strong,” and people come to find healing and solace. The series explores the relationships between the villagers and their secrets from one another. The books are also a meditation on the nature of evil and how it can exist in the most unsuspecting places.

The series centers around a former homicide detective for the Sûreté du Québec and the current head of their homicide department, who is passionate about solving murder cases. In each book, he investigates another death that seems to have resulted from a crime when other evidence suggests otherwise.

Inspector Gamache has white hair with gray sideburns longer than usual for men his age. He has an intense stare that compels people to tell him the truth.

Gamache has an eidetic memory, meaning he can remember everything he has ever seen or read. This comes in handy when investigating a murder, as he can often recall details that others would miss.

Although Gamache is no longer a detective, he still possesses the skill set necessary to solve complex murder cases. He can think outside the box and look at situations from different angles. He is also good at reading people, which allows him to get information that they may not even be aware of themselves.

Penny did not initially plan to write a series of books about Inspector Gamache; the first book, Still Life, was based on a short story she had written many years earlier. However, she decided to revisit the characters in that story and flesh them out into a full-length novel.

Penny’s writing has been praised for its beautiful prose, complex characters, and nuanced exploration of human nature. She has won several awards for her work, including the prestigious Agatha Award for Best Novel 5 times. The Inspector Armand Gamache series is a must-read for crime fiction and literary fiction fans.

You May Also Like:


Leave a Comment