Louise Penny Books In Order

Louise Penny Books In Order

Inspector Gamache Books In Publication Order

  1. Still Life (2005)
  2. Dead Cold / A Fatal Grace (2006)
  3. The Cruellest Month (2007)
  4. A Rule Against Murder / Muder Stone (2008)
  5. The Brutal Telling (2009)
  6. Bury Your Dead (2010)
  7. A Trick of the Light (2011)
  8. The Beautiful Mystery (2012)
  9. How the Light Gets In (2013)
  10. The Long Way Home (2014)
  11. The Nature of the Beast (2015)
  12. A Great Reckoning (2016)
  13. Glass Houses (2017)
  14. Kingdom of the Blind (2018)
  15. A Better Man (2019)
  16. All the Devils Are Here (2020)
  17. The Madness of Crowds (2021)

Inspector Gamache Short Stories/Novellas In Publication Order

  1. The Hangman (2010)

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. State of Terror (With: Hillary Rodham Clinton) (2021)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. The Best American Mystery Stories 2018 (2018)

About Louise Penny

Louise Penny is a Canadian author of detective fiction. She writes the Inspector Gamache series of murder mysteries set in the fictional Quebec village of Three Pines. The series has been translated into 37 languages and sold more than six million copies worldwide.

Penny was born in Toronto, Ontario. She was a radio broadcaster and a freelance journalist before writing novels. She has won several awards for her work, including 5 times Agatha Award.

The Inspector Gamache series of novels follows the investigations of Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec. The first novel in the series, Still Life, was published in 2005.

George Orwell once said, “Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness.” This statement seems especially apt in describing Louise Penny’s writing process.

While it only takes her about six months to write one of her Inspector Gamache novels, it was rejected by at least 50 agents and publishing houses. However, her persistence paid off when she finally got an agent and won the New Blood Dagger Award, the Arthur Ellis Award, the Dilys Award, the 2007 Anthony Award, and the Barry Award.

She has since become one of Quebec’s most widely read English language authors.



Leave a Comment