Lilian Jackson Braun Books In Order

Lilian Jackson Braun Books In Order

Cat Who… Books In Publication Order

  1. The Cat Who Could Read Backwards (1966)
  2. The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern (1967)
  3. The Cat Who Turned On And Off (1968)
  4. The Cat Who Saw Red (1986)
  5. The Cat Who Played Brahms (1987)
  6. The Cat Who Played Post Office (1987)
  7. The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (1988)
  8. The Cat Who Sniffed Glue (1988)
  9. The Cat Who Went Underground (1989)
  10. The Cat Who Talked to Ghosts (1990)
  11. The Cat Who Lived High (1990)
  12. The Cat Who Knew a Cardinal (1991)
  13. The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (1992)
  14. The Cat Who Wasn’t There (1992)
  15. The Cat Who Went into the Closet (1993)
  16. The Cat Who Came to Breakfast (1994)
  17. The Cat Who Blew the Whistle (1994)
  18. The Cat Who Said Cheese (1995)
  19. The Cat Who Tailed a Thief (1997)
  20. The Cat Who Sang for the Birds (1998)
  21. The Cat Who Saw Stars (1999)
  22. The Cat Who Robbed a Bank (1999)
  23. The Cat Who Smelled a Rat (2001)
  24. The Cat Who Went Up the Creek (2002)
  25. The Cat Who Brought Down the House (2003)
  26. The Cat Who Talked Turkey (2004)
  27. The Cat Who Went Bananas (2004)
  28. The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell (2006)
  29. The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (2007)

Cat Who Short Story Collections In Publication Order

  1. The Cat Who Had 14 Tales (1988)
  2. Short and Tall Tales / Qwilleran’s Short and Tall Tales (2002)
  3. The Private Life of the Cat Who… (2003)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. Mystery Cats (1991)
  2. More Mystery Cats (1993)
  3. Mystery Cats 3: More Feline Felonies (1995)
  4. Midnight Louie’s Pet Detectives (1998)
  5. Tar Heel Dead (2005)

Authors You May Also Like:

  • Sue Grafton
  • M.C. Beaton
  • Joanne Fluke


About Lilian Jackson Braun

Lilian Jackson Braun (1913-2011) was an American author who wrote in the mystery, thriller, and suspense genres. She is best known for her “The Cat Who…” series of novels.

Braun was an alcoholic when she was young. However, she quit drinking after a religious experience that helped her cope with her past traumatic experiences.

In 1966, Braun’s first book, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, received positive reviews from critics. It was the first book in her “Cat Who” series, which would become one of the most popular mystery series of all time.

The Cat Who series follows the life of Jim Qwilleran, a journalist who was once an alcoholic but had since quit drinking. Jim lives in the fictional town of Pickax with two Siamese cats named Koko and YumYum.

One of the cats, Koko, is highly intelligent and seems to have a “sixth sense” that allows him to solve crimes. In each book, Jim solves a new mystery with Koko’s help while also exploring his relationship with different characters in Pickax.

While each book is typically a standalone mystery, some recurring characters and plot arcs connect. As a result, the series became very popular for its mysteries and the wonderful characters that populate this quaint little town.

Lilian Jackson Braun continued writing into old age despite suffering from macular degeneration later. Braun passed away in 2011.

Braun was known for her large vocabulary and deep attention to detail, evident in The Cat Who series. Her books are enjoyable reads with an air of humor that makes them hard to put down. She also includes many details about the town she created, making it seem like you’re right there with Qwill and Koko solving mysteries.

Fans of the series love it for its charming characters and light-hearted mysteries. Braun’s writing style is easy to read and often includes humor. In addition, her detailed descriptions of the town and its inhabitants will make you feel like you’re right there with them. The Cat Who is an excellent option if you’re looking for a series to get lost in.


Leave a Comment