Ernest Hemingway Books In Order

Ernest Hemingway Books In Order

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. The Sun Also Rises (1926)
  2. A Clean Well Lighted Place (1926)
  3. The Torrents of Spring (1926)
  4. An Alpine Idyll (1927)
  5. A Farewell To Arms (1929)
  6. To Have and Have Not (1937)
  7. For Whom the Bell Tolls (1940)
  8. Across the River and into the Trees (1950)
  9. The Old Man and the Sea (1952)
  10. A Moveable Feast (1964)
  11. The Undefeated (1965)
  12. Islands in the Stream (1970)
  13. The Garden of Eden (1985)
  14. The Dangerous Summer (1985)
  15. True At First Light (1999)
  16. Camping Out (2014)

Short Story Collections In Publication Order

  1. 3 Short Stories and 10 Poems (1923)
  2. The Complete Short Stories (1925)
  3. In Our Time (1925)
  4. Men Without Women (1927)
  5. Winner Take Nothing (1933)
  6. The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (1936)
  7. The Fifth Column and Four Stories of the Spanish Civil War (1938)
  8. The First Forty-Nine Stories (1938)
  9. The Nick Adams Stories (1966)
  10. The Killers and Other Short Stories. (1982)

Non-Fiction Books In Publication Order

  1. Death in the Afternoon (1932)
  2. Green Hills of Africa (1935)
  3. The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber & Other Stories (1936)
  4. Articles for The Kansas City Star (1970)
  5. Bullfighting, Sport & Industry (1974)
  6. Selected Letters 1917-1961 (1981)
  7. Ernest Hemingway on Writing (1984)
  8. Dateline Toronto (1985)
  9. On Writing (1986)
  10. Conversations with Ernest Hemingway (1986)
  11. Hemingway at Oak Park High (1993)
  12. Hemingway on Fishing (2000)
  13. Hemingway on War (2003)
  14. Under Kilimanjaro (2005)
  15. On Paris (2008)

The Letters of Ernest Hemingway Books In Publication Order

  1. The Letters of Ernest Hemingway: Volume 1, 1907–1922 (2011)
  2. The Letters of Ernest Hemingway: Volume 2, 1923-1925 (2013)
  3. The Letters of Ernest Hemingway: Volume 3, 1926-1929 (2015)
  4. The Letters of Ernest Hemingway: Volume 4, 1929–1931 (2017)
  5. The Letters of Ernest Hemingway: Volume 5, 1932–1934  (2020)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. 50 Great Short Stories (1952)
  2. 50 Great American Short Stories (1963)
  3. The Ultimate Short Story Bundle (2020)

About Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway was born in 1899 in Oak Park, Illinois. He was a famous author who wrote about war, fishing, and drinking. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1954. Hemingway died in 1961.

He moved from place to place because he never longed for anything enough to stay in one place for a long time. He became famous when his first novel, The Sun Also Rises (1926), was published. Then he wrote more books that were also popular, like A Farewell to Arms (1929), For Whom the Bell Tolls (1940), and The Old Man and the Sea (1952). These were all about war, love, and fish.

He was a brave soldier too. He fought in World War I and won a medal for bravery under fire. In the 1940s, he reported from Europe as a journalist during World War II.

The Old Man and the Sea is one of Hemingway’s best-known novels. It was published in 1952, won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and is required reading in many high schools.

The novel tells the story of an old Cuban fisherman named Santiago who has gone 84 days without catching any fish. One day, he hooks a huge marlin but must fight it alone because his young apprentice ran away. He struggles for days to reel the big fish in by himself. At last, he kills it with a harpoon and tries to get it back to shore before sharks eat it all.

The novel ends with Santiago returning home empty-handed—his enormous catch eaten up by sharks during his struggle to bring it back to land.

You May Also Like:

  • John Steinbeck
  • Mark Twain
  • J.D. Salinger

Ernest Hemingway’s Unbelievable Real-Life Story