Carl Hiaasen Books In Order

Carl Hiaasen is an American journalist and novelist. He began his career as a newspaper reporter and by the late 1970s had begun writing novels in his spare time, both for adults and for young-adult readers.

Carl Hiaasen Books In Order

Black Lizard Books In Publication Order

  1. Powder Burn (1981)
  2. Trap Line (1982)
  3. A Death in China (1984)
  4. The Sinners of San Ramon (1989)

Skink Books In Publication Order

  1. Double Whammy (1987)
  2. Native Tongue (1991)
  3. Stormy Weather (1995)
  4. Sick Puppy (2000)
  5. Skinny Dip (2004)
  6. Star Island (2010)
  7. Skink–No Surrender (2014)

Mick Stranahan Books In Publication Order

  1. Skin Tight (1989)
  2. Skinny Dip (2004)

Juvenile Books In Publication Order

  1. Hoot (2002)
  2. Flush (2005)
  3. Scat (2009)
  4. Chomp (2012)
  5. Squirm (2018)

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. Tourist Season (1986)
  2. Strip Tease (1993)
  3. Lucky You (1997)
  4. Basket Case (2002)
  5. Nature Girl (2006)
  6. Bad Monkey (2013)
  7. Razor Girl (2016)
  8. Squeeze Me (2020)

Picture Books In Publication Order

  1. The Edible Exile (2013)

Non-Fiction Books In Publication Order

  1. Team Rodent : How Disney Devours the World (1998)
  2. Kick Ass: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen (1999)
  3. Paradise Screwed: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen (2001)
  4. The Downhill Lie / Fairway to Hell (2008)
  5. Dance of the Reptiles (2014)
  6. Assume the Worst (2018)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. Naked Came the Manatee (1997)
  2. The Best American Mystery Stories 2007 (2007)

Authors You May Also Like

  • Tim Dorsey
  • John D. MacDonald
  • Robert Crais
  • Dave Barry

About Carl Hiaasen

Carl Hiaasen is an American columnist, journalist, and author. He began his career as a reporter for Cocoa Today in Cocoa, Florida.

Hiaasen’s writing has been influenced by Mark Twain, Mencken, Michael Lewis, Jeff Foxworthy, Dave Barry, Jim Morrissey (his high school journalism teacher), Geoffrey Norman (the editor of his high school newspaper), and Chip Rowe (a freelance writer).

His first novel was published in 1986 called “Tourist Season”. He continues to write novels that receive critical acclaim such as the New York Times Bestseller Bad Monkey (2013).

Hiaasen is credited with starting the Florida genre of literature. This includes novelists such as Randy Wayne White, Les Standiford, John D MacDonald, Paul Levine, and Tim Dorsey.

His writing often deals with subjects related to environmentalism through comical situations in South Florida. His novels are also known for the vivid characters that are seen throughout several of his books.

Hiaasen is known to have an infectious personality. He is known to be a humorous person who enjoys life with all its ups and downs, much like his writing. It is apparent when you read one of his novels that he has experience in investigative reporting since many aspects of his novels are based on real events.

His work ethic is seen throughout his novels since he always strives to get the facts correct before publishing a story.


Leave a Comment