Blog Home FAQ Random quotes Contact

This Is Not To Be Looked At

ISBN13: 9781933751078
ISBN: 193375107X
Binding: Hardcover
List Price: $59.95
Publisher: The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles
Published Date:
Pages: 384
Average Goodreads rating: 4.20/5 (5 ratings)

Featuring the work of more than 150 exemplary international artists, this first comprehensive catalogue of the permanent collection of the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, is published to accompany the museum's major 2008 permanent collection exhibition Collecting Collections. With short texts on each artist, as well as essays by Chief Curator Paul Schimmel and Senior Curator Ann Goldstein, it is a major milestone in the museum's publishing history. Featured artists include historical figures like Ad Reinhardt, Arshile Gorky, Franz Kline, Diane Arbus, Alberto Giacometti, Morris Louis, Mark Rothko, Garry Winogrand, Barnett Newman, Andy Warhol, Willem de Kooning and Piet Mondrian; contemporary Los Angeles artists like Doug Aitken, John Baldessari, Chris Burden, Vija Celmins, Mike Kelley, Catherine Opie, Nancy Rubins, Paul McCarthy, Lari Pittman, Diana Thater, James Welling, Laura Owens, Bill Owens, Charles Ray, Raymond Pettibon, Jason Rhoades and Edward Ruscha; New York artists like Vito Acconci, Robert Gober, Nan Goldin, Brice Marden, David Salle, Claes Oldenburg, Julian Schnabel, Cady Noland, Richard Prince, Kara Walker, Robert Rauschenberg, Cindy Sherman and Kiki Smith; and international artists like Francis Alÿs, Maurizio Cattelan, Thomas Demand, Rineke Dijkstra, Peter Doig, Marlene Dumas, Olafur Eliasson, Rodney Graham, Andreas Gursky, Mona Hatoum, William Kentridge, Anselm Kiefer, Chris Ofili, Gabriel Orozco, Hiroshi Sugimoto and Rirkrit Tiravanija. The title This Is Not To Be Looked At is derived from a work in the collection by John Baldessari, dated 1966-68, which reproduces an Artforum cover that features a Frank Stella painting also owned by MOCA, titled "Union III" from the Irregular Polygon series (1966).