Home FAQ Random quotes Contact

Fugitive Pieces

ISBN13: 9780838315538
ISBN: 0838315534
List Price: $75.0
Publisher: Haskell House Pub Ltd
Published Date:
Pages: 66
Average Goodreads rating: 3.72/5

George Gordon Byron, later Noel, 6th Baron Byron FRS (1788-1824) was an English poet and a leading figure in Romanticism. Amongst Byron's best-known works are the brief poems She Walks in Beauty, and So We'll Go no More a-Roving, and the narrative poems Childe Harold's Pilgrimage (1812-1818) and Don Juan (1819-1824), although the latter remained incomplete on his death. He is regarded as one of the greatest European poets and remains widely read and influential, both in the Englishspeaking world and beyond. Byron served as a regional leader of Italy's revolutionary organization the Carbonari in its struggle against Austria. He later travelled to fight against the Ottoman Empire in the Greek War of Independence, for which Greeks revere him as a national hero. He died from a fever in Messolonghi in Greece. Amongst his other works are: Fugitive Pieces (1806), Hours of Idleness (also titled Juvenilia) (1807), English Bards and Scotch Reviewers (1809), Hebrew Melodies (1815), The Prisoner of Chillon (1816), Manfred (1817) and The Works of Lord Byron (7 volumes) (1898).