Home FAQ Random quotes Contact

Fire Watch

ISBN13: 9780553260458
ISBN: 0553260456
Binding: Mass Market Paperback
List Price: $7.99
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Published Date:
Pages: 288
Average Goodreads rating: 3.86/5 (3526 ratings)

Winner of six Nebula and five Hugo awards, Connie Willis is one of the most acclaimed and imaginative authors of our time. Her startling and powerful works have redefined the boundaries of contemporary science fiction. Here in one volume are twelve of her greatest stories, including double award-winner "Fire Watch," set in the universe of Doomsday Book and To Say Nothing of the Dog, in which a time-traveling student learns one of history's hardest lessons. In "A Letter from the Clearys," a routine message from distant friends shatters the fragile world of a beleaguered family. In "The Sidon in the Mirror," a mutant with the unconscious urge to become other people finds himself becoming both killer and victim. Disturbing, revealing, and provocative, this remarkable collection of short fiction brings together some of the best work of an incomparable writer whose ability to amaze, confound, and enlighten never fails.

Fire Watch (1982)
Service for the Burial of the Dead (1982)
Lost and Found (1982)
All My Darling Daughters (1985)
The Father of the Bride (1982)
A Letter from the Clearys (1982)
And Come from Miles Around (1979)
The Sidon in the Mirror (1983)
Daisy, in the Sun (1979)
Mail-Order Clone (1982)
Samaritan (1978)
Blued Moon (1984)