Vonda N McIntyre Books In Order

Starfarers Books In Order

  1. Starfarers (1989)
  2. Transition (1990)
  3. Metaphase (1992)
  4. Nautilus (1994)


  1. The Exile Waiting (1975)
  2. Dreamsnake (1978)
  3. Superluminal (1983)
  4. The Bride (1985)
  5. Barbary (1986)
  6. The Moon and the Sun (1997)


  1. Screwtop / The Girl Who Was Plugged In (1989)


  1. The Crystal Ship (1976)
  2. Fireflood (1979)
  3. Outcasts (2013)


  1. Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand (1973)
  2. The Adventure of the Field Theorems (1995)

Anthologies edited

  1. Aurora: Beyond Equality (1976)

Starfarers Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Omnibus Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Novellas Book Covers

Anthologies edited Book Covers

Vonda N McIntyre Books Overview


In the first in the Starfarers series of novels, the commander of the Starfarer spacecraft, scientist Victoria MacKenzie, must battle her own commanders on Earth to keep on her mission to find extraterrestrial life. Reissue.


The second novel in the Starfarers series continues the adventures of the crew of the Starfarer spacecraft as they search for alien civilizations while coping with a hidden saboteur. Reissue. LJ.


The third installment in the Starfarers series finds J. D. Sauvage and the crew preparing to meet the reclusive alien ”squidmoth,” who presents them with a dubious offer for which they must risk everything. Reissue. AB.


In the final volume in the Starfarers series, the crew of the Starfarer must decide, on the behalf of Earth, whether to join the interstellar Civilization of the aliens or risk being stranded in space. NYT.

The Exile Waiting

The rulers of the last city on earth exile Mischa a young empath, and Jan Hikaru an offworld poet to the deep underground. They find a world of crystalline caverns, strange, isolated people, and rebellion.


This is the haunting story of an extraordinary woman and her dangerous quest to reclaim her healing powers. Revered healer Snake must undertake a journey in search of the Dreamsnake, whose bite eases the fear and pain of death.


Orphaned Barbary finds a new home on a space station but runs into difficulties trying to protect her pet cat Mickey.

The Moon and the Sun

New York Times bestselling author Vonda N. McIntyre proves she is ‘blessed with both vision and genius’ BookPage in this breathtaking tale part adventure story, part legend, and part Gothic novel what Publishers Weekly calls ‘a marvelous alternative history fable.’ In seventeenth century France, Louis XIV rules with flamboyant ambition. From the Hall of Mirrors to the vermin infested attics of the Chateau at Versailles, courtiers compete to please the king, sacrificing fortune, principles, and even the sacred bond between brother and sister. Marie Jos phe de la Croix looks forward to assisting her adored brother in the scientific study of the rare sea monsters the king has commissioned him to seek. For the honor of his God, his country, and his king, Father Yves de la Croix returns with his treasures, believed to be the source of immortality: one heavy shroud packed in ice…
and a covered basin that imprisons a shrieking creature. The living sea monster, with its double tail, tangled hair, and gargoyle face, provides an intriguing experiment for Yves and the king. Yet for Marie Jos phe, the creature’s gaze and exquisite singing foretell a different future…
. Soon Marie Jos phe is contemplating choices that defy the institutions which power her world. Somehow, she must find the courage to follow her heart and her convictions even at the cost of changing her life forever. A sensitive investigation of the integrity in all of us, The Moon and the Sun is destined to become a visionary classic.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment