Rick Boyer Books In Order

Doc Adams Books In Order

  1. Billingsgate Shoal (1982)
  2. The Penny Ferry (1984)
  3. The Daisy Ducks (1986)
  4. Moscow Metal (1987)
  5. The Whale’s Footprints (1988)
  6. Gone to Earth (1990)
  7. Yellow Bird (1991)
  8. Pirate Trade (1994)
  9. The Man Who Whispered (1998)


  1. The Runt (1997)
  2. Mzungu Mjinga (2004)
  3. Buck Gentry (2005)


  1. A Sherlockian Quartet (1999)

Non fiction

Doc Adams Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Rick Boyer Books Overview

Billingsgate Shoal

‘Boyer is up there with the best.’ The Boston GlobeA Doc Adams Thriller, winner of the Edgar Award for Best Mystery Novel of the Year. First, a fishing trawler runs aground on the Massachusetts shore. Then a young scuba diver sent to investigate the wreck is found dead in the water. Doc Adams, a friend of the dead diver, sets out through the stormy seas and blood flecked sands of Cape Cod to plumb a murder he should have prevented. There he uncovers a hidden treasure in illegal arms and is nearly killed in the process. Doc lets the world think he’s dead, the better to hunt for the killers of his friend. But if he makes a single mistake, he’ll be clam chowder.

The Penny Ferry

‘Witty, Frightening…
A Stunning Denouement.’ Publishers WeeklyThe first case is history. That’s the famous trial of Sacco and Vanzetti, Boston’s pair of immigrant anarchists executed for a murder many still say they never committed. The second case makes history at least for Doc Adams. John Robinson, Doc’s handsome, generous friend, has been found dead, his body curiously unmarked. And two of the killer’s fingers are discovered lodged in the jaws of Robinson’s similarly dispatched guard dog. Between the seemingly unrelated cases, generations apart, lies a critical and hazardous link that will introduce Doc to the best kept scandals of Boston’s first families and to the Mafia strongholds of the colorful North End.’Boyer is up there with the best: the Parkers, the Higginses, and the MacDonalds.’ The Boston Globe’Altogether a book to be savored…
A real winner.’ The Denver Post

Gone to Earth

‘The action doesn’t slow down until the tank is good and empty.’ The New York Times Book ReviewIt begins with motorcycles. Four vintage Harleys carefully hidden in the barn of Doc Adams’s newly purchased farm. Doc, a cycle enthusiast, finds it hard to believe that anyone could abandon such beautiful bikes. And sure enough, the rightful owners soon turn up butchered and buried at the edge of his property!Then the sister of one of the victims comes to call and tells Doc that only one man could have done the deed a knife wielding psychopath named Buddy, feared even by the motorcycle gangs. There’s only one problem with this theory Buddy’s skeleton was among the remains found at the site of the slaughter. Or was it?

The Runt

He was a runt.
Kit Carson Hunt was tired of being the smallest
boy in the Flat Creek country. He dreamed of
being a big man and doing big things. First, he
wanted to rule the Ozark woods with his
champion coonhound. But when the dog came
into his life, it wasn’t champion material-just a
mixed breed hound puppy and The Runt of the
litter, at that. But God moves in strange ways.
He would use that mongrel pup to teach Kit
what it really means to be a winner.

Mzungu Mjinga

A humorous yet informed view of the African safari experience is evoked in Rick Boyer’s foray into creative nonfiction. An autobiographical look at the myth of the Great White Hunter, this tale provides an insightful look into the meeting of two cultures that has become big business the safari as a subculture within Africa’s vast expanse of uninhabited land. Providing a broader understanding of the environment and politics of Africa, the self deprecating tale presents a keen depiction of the African landscape and the people met on the way to a final showdown with a Cape buffalo.

Buck Gentry

A novel of the Southern Highlands by Edgar Allen Poe Award winner Rick Boyer.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment