Rhidian Brook Books In Order

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. The Testimony of Taliesin Jones (1996)
  2. Jesus and the Adman (1998)
  3. The Aftermath (2013)
  4. The Killing of Butterfly Joe (2018)

Non-Fiction Books In Publication Order

  1. More Than Eyes Can See (2007)
  2. Godbothering (2020)

Standalone Novels Book Covers

Non-Fiction Book Covers

Rhidian Brook Books Overview

The Testimony of Taliesin Jones

Everything in Taliesin Jones’s small town life in Wales has suddenly become uncertain. His mother has run off with her hairdresser. His father has taken to talking to the walls, but at least he’s talking, as his brother has gone entirely mute. At school, Julie Dyer blows confusing smoke rings at him and Hoop the Mental says there is no God. When Taliesin tries to find this out for sure no one seems to have the answer no one except Billy Evans, an old man with an exceptional and miraculous talent. ‘A beautiful meditation on childhood…
. Brook’s voice has been plucked from the babbling tongues of his country and made new.’The Times, London ‘Very upright, very moral, very entertaining…
. You’ll find yourself seduced by the quiet power of the Welshman’s prose, the subtlety of his narrative technique, with its onion skin layers of meaning, sympathy, and revelation.’ Time Out

More Than Eyes Can See

Sent in 2006 by the Salvation Army to bear witness to the work they were doing in response to the AIDS pandemic, Rhidian Brook, his wife, and two children follow a trail of devastation through communities still shattered and being broken by the disease truck stop sex workers in Kenya, victims of rape in Rwanda, child headed families in Soweto, children of prostitutes in India. It is a remarkable journey among the infected and the affected through a world that, despite seeming on the brink of collapse, is being held together not by power, politics, guns, or money, but by small acts of kindness performed by unsung people who choose to live in hope. The problem of AIDS and HIV is a cause supported by many well known people and events. The recent RED campaign has received publicity due in part to its spokesman, Bono of U2. This book is aimed at a young, politically aware audience who wants to make a difference. Rhidian Brook is an award winning novelist, the previous winner of the Somerset Maughan Award, a Betty Trask Award, and a scriptwriter for Silent Witness on an ongoing basis. He has written articles on faith, travel, social issues, and education for newspapers including The Observer, Guardian, and Daily Telegraph. He is also a regular contributor to Radio 4’s Thought for the Day program.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment