Lauren DeStefano Books In Order

Chemical Garden Books In Publication Order

  1. Wither (2011)
  2. The Seeds of Wither (2011)
  3. Fever (2012)
  4. Sever (2013)

Internment Chronicles Books In Publication Order

  1. Perfect Ruin (2013)
  2. No Intention of Dying (2014)
  3. Burning Kingdoms (2015)
  4. The Heir Apparent (2015)
  5. Broken Crowns (2016)

Pram Books In Publication Order

  1. A Curious Tale of the In-Between (2015)
  2. The Peculiar Night of the Blue Heart (2016)

Glass Spare Books In Publication Order

  1. The Glass Spare (2017)
  2. The Cursed Sea (2018)

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. The Girl with the Ghost Machine (2017)
  2. Dreaming Dangerous (2018)

Picture Books In Publication Order

  1. The Unicorn Came to Dinner (2020)

Chemical Garden Book Covers

Internment Chronicles Book Covers

Pram Book Covers

Glass Spare Book Covers

Standalone Novels Book Covers

Picture Book Covers

Lauren DeStefano Books Overview


By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males born with a lifespan of 25 years, and females a lifespan of 20 years leaving the world in a state of panic. Geneticists seek a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children. When Rhine is sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Yet her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can t bring herself to hate him as much as she d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father in law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is ho*arding corpses in the baseme*nt; her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next; and Rhine has no way to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Together with one of Linden’s servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?


The second book in The Chemical Garden Trilogy reveals a world as captivating and as dangerous as the one Rhine left behind in Wither. Rhine and Gabriel may have escaped the beautiful prison of Wither’s mansion, but they are far from escaping danger. First they re chased for stealing a getaway boat, and then the fleeing pair ends up in the eerie den of Madame, an old woman who collects girls and sells them to the highest bidders. Worst of all, Vaughn, Rhine s sinister father in law, seems to be on her trail every step of the way. Rhine remains determined to get to her brother in Manhattan but the road they are on is long and perilous. Now that Rhine has finally regained her freedom, what lengths will she need to go to in order to keep it?

Related Authors

Leave a Comment