Keith Gessen Books In Order


  1. All the Sad Young Literary Men (2008)
  2. A Terrible Country (2018)

Non fiction

Novels Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Keith Gessen Books Overview

All the Sad Young Literary Men

A charming yet scathing portrait of young adulthood at the opening of the twenty first century, All the Sad Young Literary Men charts the lives of Sam, Mark, and Keith as they overthink their college years, underthink their love lives, and struggle through the encouragement of the women who love and despise them to find a semblance of maturity, responsibility, and even literary fame. Heartbroken in his university town, Mark tries to focus his attention on his graduate work on the Russian Revolution, only to be lured again and again to the free po*rnography on the library computers. Sam binds himself to the task of crafting ‘the first great Zionist epic’ even though he speaks no Hebrew, has never visited Israel, and is not a practicing Jew. Keith, more earnest and easily upset than the other two, is haunted by catastrophes both public and private and his inability to tell the difference. At every turn, at each character’s misstep, All the Sad Young Literary Men radiates with comedic warmth and biting honesty and signals the arrival of a brave and trenchant new writer.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment