James Clavell Books In Order

Asian Saga Books In Publication Order

  1. King Rat (1962)
  2. Tai-Pan (1966)
  3. Shogun (1975)
  4. Noble House (1981)
  5. Whirlwind (1986)
  6. Gai-Jin (1993)

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. Escape (1995)

Short Stories/Novellas In Publication Order

  1. The Children’s Story (1981)
  2. The Little Samurai (1986)

Asian Saga Book Covers

Standalone Novels Book Covers

Short Stories/Novellas Book Covers

James Clavell Books Overview

King Rat

The time is World War II. The place is a brutal prison camp deep in Japanese occupied territory. Here, within the seething mass of humanity, one man, an American corporal, seeks dominance over both captives and captors alike. His weapons are human courage, unblinking understanding of human weaknesses, and total willingness to exploit every opportunity to enlarge his power and corrupt or destroy anyone who stands in his path.


Set in the turbulent days of the founding of Hong Kong in the 1840s, ‘Tai Pan’ is the story of Dirk Struan, the ruler the Tai Pan of the most powerful trading company in the Far East. He is also a pirate, an opium smuggler, and a master manipulator of men. This is the story of his fight to establish himself and his dynasty as the undisputed masters of the Orient.


This is James Clavell’s tour de force; an epic saga of one Pilot Major John Blackthorne, and his integration into the struggles and strife of feudal Japan. Both entertaining and incisive, Shogun is a stunningly dramatic re creation of a very different world. Starting with his shipwreck on this most alien of shores, the novel charts Blackthorne’s rise from the status of reviled foreigner up to the hights of trusted advisor and eventually, Samurai. All as civil war looms over the fragile country.

Noble House

The setting is Hong Kong, 1963. The action spans scarcely more than a week, but these are the days of high adventure: from kidnapping and murder to financial double dealing and natural catastrophes fire, flood, and landslide. Yet they are days filled as well with all the mystery and romance of Hong Kong the heart of Asia rich in every trade…
money, flesh, opium, power. From the Paperback edition.


Whirlwind‘ is the story of three weeks in Tehran in February 1979: three weeks of fanaticism, passion, self sacrifice and heartbreak. Caught between the revolutionaries and the forces of international intrigue is a team of professional pilots. They are ordered to flee to safety with their helicopters. Two of them, both Europeans, have Iranian wives whom they love beyond safety and politics.


The heir to the magnificent English trading company, the Noble House the direct descendant of the first Toranaga Shogun battling to usher his country into the modern age a beautiful young French woman forever torn between ambition and desire Their lives intertwine in an exotic land newly open to foreigners, gai jin, torn apart by greed, idealism, and terrorism. Their passions mingle with monarchs and diplomats, assassins, courtesans and spies. Their fates collide in James Clavell’s latest masterpiece set in nineteenth century Japan an unforgettable epic seething with betrayal and secrets, brutality and heroism, love and forbidden passions.


Over the years, James Clavell produced a phenomenal series of critically acclaimed bestsellers known collectively as the Asian Saga King Rat, Tai Pan, Shgun, Noble House, Gai Jin. Another novel, Whirlwind, was set in the violent turmoil of Iran after the exile of the Shah in1979. Caught in this shifting world of fanaticism, ambition, duplicity, and death are the foreign helicopter pilots who service Iran’s oil fields. Their one objective is to make a bold, concerted Escape to safety across the Gulf. In Whirlwind, Clavell told the full story of the three weeks it took them to achieve this. In Escape, he drew out just one poignant thread from that epic narrative the stirring love story of Erikki, a dashing Finnish pilot, and his ravishing and aristocratic Iranian wife, Azedeh, whom he loved beyond safety and politics. Released after the author’s death and originated as the basis of a film script, this moving story is now published here for the first time.

The Children’s Story

James Clavell, the author of Nobel House and Shogun presents a chilling tale of how patriotism can be reshaped in a person’s mind with a few simple and resonable explanations. Both disturbing and enthralling, this short and stunning story asks many questions, yet leaves the answers up to the reader. Reissue.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment