Jack Adrian Books In Order

  • Pilgrimage to Hell (1986)
  • Anthologies edited

    1. Strange Tales from the Strand Magazine (1991)
    2. The Oxford Book of Historical Stories (1994)
    3. Hard-boiled (1995)
    4. The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 1997 (1997)
    5. Twelve Tales of Murder (1998)
    6. The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 1998 (1998)
    7. The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 1999 (1999)
    8. The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 2000 (2000)
    9. The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 2001 (2001)
  • Pilgrimage to Hell
  • Anthologies edited Book Covers

    Jack Adrian Books Overview

    Pilgrimage to Hell

    On a crisp January day, a Presidential inaugurtion day, a one megaton blast ripped through the Soviet embassy in Washington, D.C. Subsequent explosions around the globe changed the face and the shape of the earth forever. Out of the ruins emerged Deathlands, a world that conspired against survival. In the blasted heart of the new America, a group of men and women plan desperately to escape the eerie wastes and mutated life forms of their nuclear hell. Three warriors the tough, intelligent Ryan Cawdor, an enigmatic beauty called Krysty Wroth, and the armoror J. B. Dix set out on a harrowing journey to find a rumored enclave high in the mountains. Their aim: to unlock the secrets of prewar scientific experiments that could hold the answer to survival in the Deathlands of the future. GraphicAudio…
    A Movie in Your Mind is a unique audio entertainment experience that features a full cast of actors, sound effects and cinematic music. Publisher’s Weekly says ‘Graphic Audio delivers an action and sound effect loaded audiobook that lives up to its tagline, A movie in your mind.’ Audiofile Magazine says, GraphicAudio sets the gold standard for full cast dramatizations, and new listeners will become instant fans.

    Strange Tales from the Strand Magazine

    A collection of bizarre, gruesome, and supernatural stories from the pages of the Strand magazine includes the work of Edgar Wallace, Graham Greene, D. H. Lawrence, H. G. Wells, and Arthur Conan Doyle.


    What are the ingredients of a hard boiled detective story? ‘Savagery, style, sophistication, sleuthing and sex,’ said Ellery Queen. Often a desperate blond, a jealous husband, and, of course, a tough but tender P.I. the likes of Sam Spade or Philop Marlowe. Perhaps Raymond Chandler summed it up best in his description of Dashiell Hammett’s style: ‘Hammett gave murder back to the kind of people that commit it…
    . He put these people down on paper as they were, and he made them talk and think in the language they customarily used for these purposes.’ Hard Boiled: An Anthology of American Crime Stories is the largest and most comprehensive collection of its kind, with over half of the stories never published before in book form. Included are thirty six sublimely suspenseful stories that chronicle the evolutiuon of this quintessentially American art form, from its earliest beginnings during the Golden Age of the legendary pulp magazine Black Mask in the 1920s, to the arrival of the tough digest Manhunt in the 1950s, and finally leading up to present day hard boiled stories by such writers as James Ellroy. Here are eight decades worth of the best writing about betrayal, murder, and mayhem: from Hammett’s 1925 tour de force ‘The Scorched Face,’ in which the disappearance of two sisters leads Hammett’s never named detective, the Continental Op, straight into a web of sexual blackmail amidst the West Coast elite, to Ed Gorman’s 1992 ‘The Long Silence After,’ a gripping and powerful rendezvous involving a middle class insurance executive, a Chicago streetwalker, and a loaded . 38. Other delectable contributions include ‘Brush Fire’ by James M. Cain, author of The Postman Always Rings Twice, Raymond Chandler’s ‘I’ll Be Waiting,’ where, for once, the femme fatale is not blond but a redhead, a Ross Macdonald mystery starring Macdonald’s most famous creation, the cryptic Lew Archer, and ‘The Screen Test of Mike Hammer’ by the one and only Micky Spillane. The hard boiled cult has more in common with the legendary lawmen of the Wild West than with the gentleman and lady sleuths of traditional drawing room mysteries, and this direct line of descent is on brilliant display in two of the most subtle and tautly written stories in the collection, Elmore Leonard’s ‘3:10 to Yuma’ and John D. MacDonald’s ‘Nor Iron Bars.’ Other contributors include Evan Hunter better known as Ed McBain, Jim Thompson, Helen Nielsen, Margaret Maron, Andrew Vachss, Faye Kellerman, and Lawrence Block. Compellingly and compulsively readable, Hard Boiled: An Anthology of American Crime Stories is a page turner no mystery lover will want to be without. Containing many notable rarities, it celebrates a genre that has profoundly shaped not only American literature and film, but how we see our heroes and oursleves.

    The Ash-Tree Press Annual Macabre 2000

    The nine stories gathered together for ANNUAL MACABRE 2000 have one thing in common: all seem to have been forgotten about by their authors, and all have, in consequence, lain undisturbed in the pages of old periodicals, some for more than one hundred years. The late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries saw an explosion in magazine publication, and it is hardly surprising that treasures lie buried in the pages of yellowing journals; but what is amazing is that among the stories Jack Adrian has uncovered for this collection are ‘unknown’ tales by such masters of the macabre as E. Nesbit, S. Baring Gould, Sax Rohmer, and Julian Hawthorne. In settings which range from India to the west coast of America, and from a cruise to Greece to a boat trip up the Rhine, these stories feature hauntings both horrific and benign, and show that, on occasion, the terrors of the supernatural are as nothing to the terrors which the mind of man can conceive. An Ash Tree Press Limited Edition.

    Related Authors

    Leave a Comment