Ian Whates Books In Order

City of a Hundred Rows Books In Publication Order

  1. City of Dreams & Nightmare (2010)
  2. City of Hope & Despair (2010)
  3. City of Light & Shadow (2011)

Noise Books In Publication Order

  1. The Noise Within (2010)
  2. The Noise Revealed (2011)

The Dark Angels Books In Publication Order

  1. Pelquin’s Comet (2015)
  2. The Ion Raider (2017)
  3. Dark Angels Rising (2020)

Short Stories/Novellas In Publication Order

  1. One Night in London (2011)
  2. The Smallest of Things (2018)

Short Story Collections In Publication Order

  1. The Gift of Joy (2009)
  2. Growing Pains (2013)
  3. Dark Travellings (2016)
  4. Wourism And Other Stories (2019)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. Anniversaries (2010)
  2. The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic (2013)
  3. The End of the Road: An Anthology of Original Fiction (2013)
  4. Sharkpunk (2015)
  5. Barcelona Tales (2016)
  6. Once Upon a Parsec (2019)
  7. Stories of Hope and Wonder: In Support of UK’s Healthcare Workers (2020)
  8. London Centric (2020)

City of a Hundred Rows Book Covers

Noise Book Covers

The Dark Angels Book Covers

Short Stories/Novellas Book Covers

Short Story Collections Book Covers

Anthologies Book Covers

Ian Whates Books Overview

City of Dreams & Nightmare

THEY CALL IT ‘THE CITY OF A HUNDRED ROWS’. City of Dreams & Nightmare is the first in a series of novels set in one of the most extraordinary fantasy settings since Gormenghast the ancient vertical city of Thaiburley. From its towering palatial heights to the dregs who dwell in The City Below, this is a vast, multi tiered metropolis, and demons are said to dwell in the Upper Heights…
Having witnessed a murder in a part of the city he should never have been in, street thief Tom has to run for his life. Down through the vast city he is pursued by sky borne assassins, sinister Kite Guards, and agents of a darker force intent on destabilising the whole city. Accused of the crime, he must use all of his knowledge of this ancient city to flee a certain death; his only ally is Kat, a renegade like him, but she has secrets of her own…
File Under: Fantasy Towering City Ancient Secrets Murder Most Foul Kite Guard!

City of Hope & Despair

A SECOND VISIT TO THAIBURLEY: THE CITY OF DREAMS, THE FABLED CITY OF A HUNDRED ROWS. Dark forces are gathering in the shadowy depths, and the whole city is under threat. The former street nick, Tom, embarks on a journey to discover the source of the great river Thair, said to be the ultimate power behind all of Thaiburley. Accompanying him are the assassin Dewar and the young Thaistess Mildra. It soon becomes evident that their journey has more significance than any of them realise, as past secrets catch up with them and unknown adversaries hunt them…
to the death! File Under: Fantasy Towering City Ancient Secrets Assassins & Gods Soul Thief!

City of Light & Shadow

The monstrous Rust Warriors are back! In a land struggling to cope with the onset of the fatal bone flu, street nick Tom and Kat the leader of the Tattooed Men must find a way to despatch both threats. Meanwhile, the Soul Thief is still at large, and still killing…
File Under: Fantasy Sick Society Dejected Leaders Secret Powers Rust Warriors! e book ISBN: 978 0 85766 191 3

The Noise Within

On the brink of perfecting the long sought after human/AI interface, Philip Kaufman finds his world thrown into turmoil as a scandal from the past returns to haunt him and dangerous information falls into his hands. Pursued by assassins and attacked in his own home, he flees. Leyton, a government black ops specialist, is diverted from his usual duties to hunt down the elusive pirate vessel The Noise Within, wondering all the while why this particular freebooter is considered so important. Two lives collide in this stunning space opera from debut novelist Ian Whates!

The Noise Revealed

A time of flux, a time of change While mankind is adjusting to its first ever encounter with an alien civilisation the Byrzaens black ops specialist Jim Leyton reluctantly allies himself with the mysterious habitat in order to rescue the woman he loves. This brings him into direct conflict with his former employers: the United League of Allied Worlds government. Scientist and businessman Philip Kaufman is fast discovering there is more to the virtual world than he ever realised. Yet it soon becomes clear that all is not well within the realm of Virtuality. Truth is hidden beneath lies and there are games being played, deadly games with far reaching consequences. Both men begin to suspect that the much heralded First Contact is anything but first contact, and that a sinister con is being perpetrated with the whole of humankind as the victim. Now all they have to do is prove it.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment