Ian Irvine Books In Order

The View from the Mirror Books In Publication Order

  1. The Tower on the Rift (1998)
  2. Dark is the Moon (1999)
  3. The Way Between the Worlds (1999)
  4. A Shadow on the Glass (2000)

The Well of Echoes Books In Publication Order

  1. Geomancer (2001)
  2. Tetrarch (2002)
  3. Alchymist / Scrutator (2003)
  4. Chimaera (2004)

Human Rites Books In Publication Order

  1. The Last Albatross (2000)
  2. Terminator Gene (2003)
  3. The Life Lottery (2004)

Song of Tears Books In Publication Order

  1. The Fate of the Fallen (2006)
  2. The Curse on the Chosen (2007)
  3. The Destiny of the Dead (2008)

Runcible Jones Books In Publication Order

  1. The Gate to Nowhere (2006)
  2. Runcible Jones and the Buried City (2007)
  3. Runcible Jones and the Frozen Compass (2008)
  4. Runcible Jones and the Backwards Hourglass (2010)

The Tainted Realm Books In Publication Order

  1. Vengeance (2011)
  2. Rebellion (2012)
  3. Justice (2013)

Tales of the Three Worlds Books In Publication Order

  1. A Wizard’s War and Other Stories (2015)

Gate of Good and Evil Books In Publication Order

  1. The Summon Stone (2016)
  2. The Fatal Gate (2017)
  3. The Perilous Tower (2020)
  4. The Sapphire Portal (2020)

Short Stories/Novellas In Publication Order

  1. Tribute to Hell (2011)

The View from the Mirror Book Covers

The Well of Echoes Book Covers

Human Rites Book Covers

Song of Tears Book Covers

Runcible Jones Book Covers

The Tainted Realm Book Covers

Tales of the Three Worlds Book Covers

Gate of Good and Evil Book Covers

Short Stories/Novellas Book Covers

Ian Irvine Books Overview

The Tower on the Rift

War rages across Santhenar as the quest for the Mirror of Aachan continues. In desperation, Tensor, leader of the Aachims, flees with the Mirror into the wilderness, taking the chronicler Llian with him. Only Karan can locate them, but it will be a perilous journey. Tensor wants her dead, other powers are hunting her down, and Rulke the Charon broods over them all from his Nightland prison…
‘The complex cultures, detailed geography, and the palpable weight of history provide a solid background to an intense story…
this stands out as a worldbuilding labour of love with some truly original touches’ LOCUS Look out for more information on this book and others on the Orbit website at www. orbitbooks. co. uk

Dark is the Moon

n the third volume of this stunning and original saga, Ian Irvine continues The View from the Mirror, his brilliant epic fantasy. THE TALE OF THE BETRAYERS Rulke, the last and most powerful of the Charon, escapes from the alien dimension where he has been imprisoned for a millennium. As he amas*ses a conquering army of telepathic monsters, the other immortal mancers scatter in desperate quests to control or re create the terrible, arcane magics of the Forbidding. But young Llian, his mind controlled by Rulke, becomes an unwilling spy against all who’ve befriended him while Karan, the tormented daughter of three human species, discovers her beloved homeland of Gothryme has become the center of a sorcerous vortex. For there, in a mystic, ancient citadel built by a madman, Rulke plans to wield powers that will reconnect worlds or unleash the insatiable horrors of The Void. And the key to the Charon’s scheme…
is Karan herself. PUPPETS OF THE TWISTED MIRROR Karan of Gothryme: To save her people, her land, and her lover, she will have to sacrifice the entire world…
Llian of the Zain: Born cursed to serve the Charon, he now must use his knowledge to overcome his very nature…
Yalkara of the Charon: The Demon Queen warped the Twisted Mirror to escape Santhenar and the Forbidding, but she may have left her darkest secrets behind…
Maigraith: She has the strength to lead armies against inhuman foes, yet she cannot free herself from the one person who would destroy her…
Shand: He has spent an eon burying his past but if he does not reveal the truth now, Santhenar may be doomed…
Faelamor of the Faellem: The Lady of Illusions plans to lead her people back to their homeworld of Tallallame, even if escape means sacrificing all other worlds to The Void…

The Way Between the Worlds

In the conclusion to this series, Karan, the young Sensitive who holds the Mirror of Aachen, which has the power to heal or permanently destroy the rift between Worlds, is held captive. Her lover, Llian, is in chains, falsely accused of betraying her. With the dark moon rising, the Charon Rulke is unstoppable as he prepares to open The Way Between the Worlds.

A Shadow on the Glass

With this stunning and original debut, Ian Irvine begins the saga of The View from the Mirror, a brilliant epic fantasy that rivals the works of Robert Jordan and J. V. Jones. ‘Once there were three worlds, each with its own human race. Then, fleeing from out of the void came a fourth race, the Charon. Desperate, on the edge of extinction, they changed the balance between the worlds forever…
‘ THE TALE OF THE FORBIDDING In ancient times the Way Between the Worlds was shattered, leaving bands of Aachim, Faellem, and Charon trapped with the old humans of Santhenar. Now Llian, a Chronicler of the Great Tales, uncovers a 3,000 year old secret too deadly to be revealed while Karan, a young sensitive, is compelled by honor to undertake a perilous mission. Neither can imagine they will soon meet as hunted fugitives, snared in the machinations of immortals, the vengeance of warlords, and the magics of powerful mancers. For the swelling deluge of a millennial war is rising, terrible as a tsunami, ready to cast torrents of sorcery and devastation across the land…


Santhenar is on its knees. War with the forces from beyond the Void shows no sign of ending. And there is worse to come. The Aachim have invaded with a fleet of formidable battle constructs and the price for their withdrawal is half the globe. The future of the world now rests in the hands of just three flawed individuals: Tiaan, whose knowledge holds the key to a power that can yet destroy all foes; Nish who has sworn to bring the renegade geomancer to justice; and Irisis, whose great talents are hidden even from herself. Now Tiaan is leading her people in a last desperate stand against the Lyrinx . but if they are to survive she must master her new powers or be destroyed .

Related Authors

Leave a Comment