Iain Gale Books In Order

Jack Steel Books In Order

  1. Man of Honour (2007)
  2. Rules of War (2008)
  3. Brothers in Arms (2009)

Peter Lamb Books In Order

  1. Black Jackals (2011)
  2. Jackals’ Revenge (2012)

James Keane Books In Order

  1. Keane’s Company (2013)
  2. Keane’s Challenge (2014)
  3. Keane’s Charge (2015)
  4. Conspiracy (2016)


  1. The Four Days in June (2006)
  2. Alamein (2010)
  3. Zero Hour (2019)

Non fiction

  1. Scotland Forever (2015)
  2. SBS: Special Boat Squadron (2021)

Jack Steel Book Covers

Peter Lamb Book Covers

James Keane Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Iain Gale Books Overview

Rules of War

In the early 18th century the British army led by John Churchill, Duke of Marlborough, were the leaders of a wide ranging and very successful alliance. Ramilles 1706 one of the great victories of the British army, a battle honor for the regiments who were there. But Captain Jack Steel, maverick gentleman and super soldier, finds himself at odds with his Allied partners and receives contradictory orders; and even after victory, he finds himself mired in further difficulties. The Allies had thought that they were liberating the Low Countries but some preferred their previous masters, the French, who at least were Catholic, and some wanted independence from all powers, while others of his fellow officers wanted out of the war altogether. Far from the battle lines he enjoys, Jack Steel is sent undercover to deal with the traitors and identify the loyal locals who would let British advance troops into the besieged city a dangerous mission made deadly by an old enemy of his and the brilliant malevolence of the renegade French pirate who is in charge of Ostende.

Brothers in Arms

Charismatic hero Jack Steel returns, in a new and perilous adventure. 1708. War rages across the lowlands of Flanders. British soldiers fight ferociously to protect their last remaining fortress in Oudenarde. Their mission is to stop their enemies France and Spain forming a powerful union that could relegate Britain to the sidelines in Europe. Newly married and promoted to the rank of captain, life for Jack Steel has never been better. But now he must go back to where he is needed on the battlefield. Having already fought some daring campaigns under the Duke of Marlborough, Steel has every reason to be confident. But after a long day of fighting, one of France’s finest cavalry regiments ambushes his battered and exhausted Grenadier troops. Taken by surprise, Steel will need a miracle to save them all from annihilation. Brothers in Arms is the third book in the superb Jack Steel series.

The Four Days in June

A remarkable debut novel, ‘Four Days in June’ is an imaginative but accurate reconstruction of five men all real figures five points of view, and four days of battle of one of the world’s most famous battles. In June 1815, Napoleon has just escaped from Elba, the Bourbon kings were on the run, France rose to their emperor, and the Allied forces were in disarray. The British has disbanded their armies after their victory the previous year and had now cobbled together an uneasy alliance of the Prussians, the Dutch and an untrained army, stiffened by a few veterans. The five characters are: General Zeithen of the Prussian army, concerned both about the French and about his and his men’s exposed position, unsupported he fears by his reluctant chief and by the British; De Lancey, Wellington’s quartermaster general, accompanied by his new young wife, and desperately juggling his new role, the movements of men and supplies in face of the rapid French advance, Wellington’s incessant demands and communications with the allies; Colonel MacDonnell, originally from the Black Watch but promoted to command one of the Guards companies, a veteran and now pushed into the frontline to stiffen the untried troops; and Napoleon himself, a great warrior but can he make a comeback after his humiliation before; and Marshal Ney, only recently returned from the Royalist cause, and thus distrusted by Napoleon but revered and beloved by French soldiers. What is so remarkable about Iain Gale’s writing and storytelling gifts is that although we may know the outcome, the reader is completely absorbed by the unfolding drama: the tensions from mistakes made, how characters react under such stress, the interaction of one character with another; how memories of the past affect decisions now; the courage, the fear, the responsibility of command; the whole feel of battle.


Superb war novelist, Iain Gale, moves into the twentieth century and World War Two, telling the story of the eleven days that would change the course of history. There are some battles that change the course of history: Alamein is one of those. In October 1942, Britain and its allies were in trouble. Germany and its Axis partners were winning ground in Europe, in Russia, in the Atlantic and they were poised to take the Suez Canal. But it was in this North Africa battle that the stand was made, that the tide of World War Two began to turn. It was a battle of strong characters: Rommel and Montgomery lead their men through an extraordinary eleven day battle, in unforgiving terrain, amid the swirling sandstorms and the desert winds. Iain Gale, author of the outstanding historical novel Four Days in June, tells this dramatic story through seven dynamic characters, many of whom are based on real people. Drawn from both sides of the conflict, they include a major from a Scottish brigade, a young lieutenant in the thick of the tank battle, an Australian sergeant and a charismatic Italian commander of a parachute battalion. Through their eyes we see the battle unfold; the strategy, the individual actions and skirmishes, the fear, the determination and the extraordinary courage on both sides.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment