Henry Morton Robinson Books In Order


  1. The Great Snow (1947)
  2. The Cardinal (1950)
  3. Water of Life (1960)


Non fiction

  1. Science Versus Crime (1935)
  2. Fantastic Interim (1943)
  3. A Skeleton Key to Finnegans Wake (1944)

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Henry Morton Robinson Books Overview

A Skeleton Key to Finnegans Wake

Since its publication in 1939, countless would be readers of Finnegans Wake James Joyce’s masterwork, which consumed a third of his life have given up after a few pages, dismissing it as a ‘perverse triumph of the unintelligible.’ In 1944, a young professor of mythology and literature named Joseph Campbell, working with Henry Morton Robinson, wrote the first ‘key’ or guide to entering the fascinating, disturbing, marvelously rich world of Finnegans Wake. The authors break down Joyce’s ‘unintelligible’ book page by page, stripping the text of much of its obscurity and serving up thoughtful interpretations via footnotes and bracketed commentary. They outline the book’s basic action, and then simplify and clarify its complex web of images and allusions. A Skeleton Key to Finnegans Wake is the latest addition to the Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment