Hans Magnus Enzensberger Books In Order


  1. The Number Devil (1998)
  2. Where Were You, Robert? (2000)
  3. Lost in Time (2000)


  1. The Silences of Hammerstein (2009)


  1. Mr. Zed’s Reflections (2015)
  2. Panopticon (2018)

Non fiction

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Novellas Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Hans Magnus Enzensberger Books Overview

The Number Devil

The international best seller that makes mathematics a thrilling exploration. In twelve dreams, Robert, a boy who hates math, meets a Number Devil, who leads him to discover the amazing world of numbers: infinite numbers, prime numbers, Fibonacci numbers, numbers that magically appear in triangles, and numbers that expand without . As we dream with him, we are taken further and further into mathematical theory, where ideas eventually take flight, until everyone from those who fumble over fractions to those who solve complex equations in their heads winds up marveling at what numbers can do. Hans Magnus Enzensberger is a true polymath, the kind of superb intellectual who loves thinking and marshals all of his charm and wit to share his passions with the world. In The Number Devil, he brings together the surreal logic of Alice in Wonderland and the existential geometry of Flatland with the kind of math everyone would love, if only they had a number devil to teach it to them.

Where Were You, Robert?

What’s the hook? Perpetual plot twists and dramatic changes in setting make this imaginative tale endlessly fascinating for all readers. What are the themes? Identity, mystery and imagination, friendship, individual vs society. Teaching points? Excellent for exploring cross curricular links with history and geography.

The Silences of Hammerstein

The Silences of Hammerstein, the latest work from one of Germany’s most significant contemporary authors, engages readers with a blend of a documentary, collage, narration, and fictional interviews. The gripping plot revolves around the experiences of real life German General Kurt von Hammerstein and his wife and children. A member of an old military family, a brilliant staff officer, and the last commander of the German army before Hitler seized power, Hammerstein, who died in 1943 before Hitler s defeat, was nevertheless an idiosyncratic character. Too old to be a resister, he retained an independence of mind that was shared by his children: three of his daughters joined the Communist Party, and two of his sons risked their lives in the July 1944 Plot against Hitler and were subsequently on the run till the end of the war. Hammerstein never criticized his children for their activities, and he maintained contacts with the Communists himself and foresaw the disastrous end of Hitler s dictatorship. In The Silences of Hammerstein, Hans Magnus Enzensberger offers a brilliant and unorthodox account of the military milieu whose acquiescence to Na*zism consolidated Hitler s power and of the heroic few who refused to share in the spoils.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment