Graham Joyce Books In Order

Novels

  1. Dreamside (1991)
  2. Dark Sister (1992)
  3. House of Lost Dreams (1993)
  4. Requiem (1995)
  5. The Tooth Fairy (1996)
  6. The Stormwatcher (1998)
  7. Leningrad Nights (1998)
  8. Indigo (1999)
  9. Smoking Poppy (2001)
  10. The Facts of Life (2002)
  11. The Limits of Enchantment (2005)
  12. TWOC (2005)
  13. Do the Creepy Thing (2006)
  14. Three Ways to Snog an Alien (2008)
  15. The Memoirs of a Master Forger (2008)
  16. How to Make Friends with Demons (2008)
  17. The Devil’s Ladder (2009)
  18. The Silent Land (2010)
  19. Some Kind of Fairy Tale (2012)
  20. The Year of the Ladybird (2013)

Collections

  1. Separate Skins (1998)
  2. Partial Eclipse (2003)
  3. Black Dust (2005)
  4. Tales For A Dark Evening (2011)
  5. 25 Years in the Word Mines (2014)

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Graham Joyce Books Overview

Dreamside

Finally available in America: the debut novel from the author of The Tooth Fairy and Dark Sister

It began as an experiment in college a seemingly harmless investigation into ‘lucid dreaming,’ the ability to control one’s dreams.

But they stayed too long on Dreamside, and now, ten years later, the dreams have returned returned to upend their adult lives. The dreams of youth fade, if you’re lucky. If not, they can consume you…
and will.

House of Lost Dreams

Horror fiction set on an idyllic Greek Island.

Requiem

After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Webster travels to Jerusalem in search of a friend from his college days. The haunted city, divided by warring religious factions, offers him no refuge from his guilt and grief. As he is wandering through the streets and the archaeological sites, a mysterious old woman appears to Tom and delivers messages that seem beyond his comprehension. But a fragment of the Dead Sea Scrolls that had been kept hidden by an old Jewish innkeeper appears to offer the key to understanding the apparition. Driven to the edge of insanity, Tom believes the spirit of Mary Magdalene is trying to reveal the hidden history of the Resurrection, and he struggles to reconcile the distant past with his own future before the threads of his identity unravel.

The Tooth Fairy

Sam and his friends are like any normal gang of normal young boys. Roaming wild around the outskirts of their car factory town. Daring adults to challenge their freedom. Until the day Sam wakes to find The Tooth Fairy sitting on the edge of his bed. Not the benign figure of childhood myth, but an enigmatic presence that both torments and seduces him, changing his life forever.

The Stormwatcher

Night Shade Books is proud to present the first hardcover and U.S. publication of this standout novel from one of the most exciting, literate, and compelling authors around. Any fan of genre bending writers such as Jonathan Lethem, Dan Simmons, or Jonathan Carroll should not miss this book.

Indigo

It is a color the human eye cannot truly see, a slice of the spectrum imbued with the promise of invisibility. But for Jack Chambers, the son of a scientist renowned as both a genius and a madman, it will lead to places of unknown treachery. As executor of his estranged father’s will, Jack is appointed two ominous tasks: publish Timothy Chambers’ bizarre manuscript ‘Invisibility: A Manual of Light,’ and track down an unknown woman who stands to inherit the substantial estate. Jack’s mission leads him to reunite with his half sister, Louise, now grown into a stunning woman. Bound by a tense attraction, Jack and Louise head to Rome, where a cultlike group pursues the intoxicating secrets of the elusive Indigo and where Jack perceives its horrid danger only when it’s too late.

Smoking Poppy

‘Oh that Charlie of mine, how I wanted her back. Dan Innes hasn’t seen his daughter for two years. Now he’s been delivered shattering news from the British Embassy in Bangkok: the light of his life has been arrested as a drug smuggler, languishing in wait of a probable death sentence in a hellish Chiang Mai jail. Angry and terrified, seething with guilt, reprimands, and questions, he leaves London for Thailand, prepared to fight for his estranged daughter’s freedom. But Dan’s visit to the jail is inconclusive, and soon he is following the faintest of trails up in the lawless mountain region close to the border with Myanmar, where opium grows abundantly and the dangers of nature are second only to that of man. It’s a place where the fearless and the foolish wander and disappear forever. To find Charlie, Dan must retrace her steps and brave the same traps that swallowed her. Here he will discover his own limits, his own temptations, as he drifts across the strange tides of an even stranger land, on a terrifying mission of self discovery, blind faith, and salvation. As ?uidly ecstatic as a drug, pulsating with a vivid, hothouse atmosphere, ‘Smoking Poppy takes readers on a hallucinatory sometimes funny, sometimes horrifying journey across an enthralling, suspense charged landscape. Graham Joyce, who brilliantly explored the far reaches of human obsession in his acclaimed thriller ‘Indigo, goes further to prove that such obsession has no boundaries, no taboos, and the deeper one gets no exit.

The Facts of Life

Graham Joyce is the author of Smoking Poppy, Indigo a New York Times Notable Book of 2000, The Tooth Fairy a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 1998, Requiem, Dark Sister, and Dreamside. He lives in Leicester, England, with his wife and two children.

The Limits of Enchantment

Everything Fern Cullen knows she’s learned from her Mammy and none of it’s conventional. Taught midwifery at an early age, Fern grows up as Mammy’s trusted assistant in a small English village and learns through experience that secrets are precious, men can’t be trusted, hippies are filthy and people should generally mind their own business. But when one of Mammy’s patients allegedly dies from a potion prescribed to induce abortion, the town’s people rally against her outdated methods, and Mammy ends up hospitalized, due to a bad fall and a broken heart. Now the county is threatening eviction if Fern can’t come up with the overdue rent, and a bunch of hippies and a woman with hoop earrings with a mysterious connection to Mammy seem to be the only people with any answers. As Fern struggles to save her home and Mammy’s good name, everything around her begins to transform, and she soon uncovers a legacy spotted with magic. The Limits of Enchantment is at once a story of two women: one with a deep past and one who finds her history in the other. It is a tale of midwifery, alchemy, magic, truth and identity, from an author with the extraordinary ability to blend literature and fantasy with surprising dexterity.

TWOC

TWOC verb: to steal an automobile, esp. for joyriding; etymology: taking without owner’s consent. Ever since the joyriding accident that killed his brother Jake and left Jake s girlfriend Jools hideously scarred, Matt has been tortured by his inability to remember exactly what happened. He decides to reconstruct the events of that tragic day but can he survive the accident a second time? This visceral, heartbreaking book probes deep into Matt s psyche, where the terrible truth is hiding. In his first novel for teenagers, award winning writer Graham Joyce skirts the shadowy line between truth and reality, life and death, action and consequences.

Do the Creepy Thing

A taut, otherworldly thriller set in contemporary England. Caz and her best friend Lucy have a secret. Late at night, they break into strangers homes not to steal anything, just for the rush. Then Caz gets caught in the act by elderly Mrs. Tranter, and before she knows it, the old woman has snapped a silver bracelet around her wrist. Caz can t remove it, no matter what she does; and then it becomes part of her, sinking into her skin like a tattoo. Worst and most unsettling of all, it’s given her an unpredictable kind of ESP. She can see into people s inner lives, whether she wants to or not. The Exchange is gritty magical realism with a sense of humor just right for fans of Holly Black and Sonya Hartnett.

The Memoirs of a Master Forger

William is a dissolute book forger. A talented writer in his own right he would rather scribble poems anonymously for an asian friend who is becoming increasingly successful as a result, and create forgeries of Jane Austen first editions to sell to gullible collectors. He’s not all bad. The money from the forgeries goes straight to homeless hostel and William’s crimes don’t really hurt anyone. And there are reasons William hasn’t amounted to more. He did something he was ashamed of when he was a student, he drinks far too much and he can’t commit to any relationships. Oh and he sees demons. Shadowy figures at the shoulder of everyone around him except the woman who runs the hostel, she remains untouched, waiting for a moment’s weakness. Or is just that William can see the suffering of the world? And then an extraordinary woman, who may just be able to save him from the world’s suffering, walks into his life. This is William’s own story. But who can believe a master forger?

How to Make Friends with Demons

William Heaney is a man well acquainted with demons. Not his broken family his wife has left him for a celebrity chef, his snobbish teenaged son despises him, and his daughter’s new boyfriend resembles Nosferatu nor his drinking problem, nor his unfulfilling government job, but real demons! For demons are real, and William has identified one thousand five hundred and sixty seven smoky figures, dwelling on the shadowy fringes of human life, influencing our decisions with their sweet and poisoned voices. After a series of seemingly unconnected personal encounters with a beautiful and captivating woman met in the company of an infuriating poet, a troubled and damaged veteran of Desert Storm with demons of his own, and an old school acquaintance with whom he shared a mystical occult ritual, William Heaney’s life is thrown into a direction he does not fully comprehend. Past and present collide. Long dormant choices and forgotten deceptions surface. Secrets threaten to become exposed. To weather the changes, William Heaney must learn one thing: How to Make Friends with Demons!

Related Authors

Leave a Comment