Dorothy Salisbury Davis Books In Order

Mrs. Norris Books In Order

  1. Death of an Old Sinner (1957)
  2. A Gentleman Called (1958)
  3. Old Sinners Never Die (1959)

Julie Hayes Books In Order

  1. A Death in the Life (1976)
  2. Scarlet Night (1980)
  3. Lullaby of Murder (1984)
  4. The Habit of Fear (1987)


  1. The Judas Cat (1949)
  2. A Gentle Murderer (1951)
  3. The Clay Hand (1952)
  4. A Town of Masks (1952)
  5. Men of No Property (1956)
  6. The Evening of the Good Samaritan (1961)
  7. Black Sheep, White Lamb (1964)
  8. The Pale Betrayer (1965)
  9. Enemy and brother (1967)
  10. God Speed the Night (1969)
  11. Where the Dark Streets Go (1970)
  12. Shock Wave (1972)
  13. The Little Brothers (1973)
  14. In the Still of the Night (2001)


  1. Tales for a Stormy Night (1984)
  2. Murder in Manhattan (2016)

Anthologies edited

  1. Crime without Murder (1972)

Mrs. Norris Book Covers

Julie Hayes Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Anthologies edited Book Covers

Dorothy Salisbury Davis Books Overview

A Gentleman Called

Three of Davis’ most endearing and enduring characters return to delight and thrill mystery and suspense fans. This time, Jimmie Jarvis finds himself involved in a threatened paternity suit against a dapper little man named Teddy Adkins, whose wealthy family are old clients of Jarvis’ law firm. At the same time, Jasper Tally is embroiled in the investigation into the strangulation of a woman crime which appears tied to several other unsolved mysteries. At the center of the two storm fronts, Mrs. Norris, the redoubtable housekeeper, must fend off the attentions of the dapper client and an unseen, sinister threat to her life.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment