C.S. Harris Books In Order

Sebastian St. Cyr Books In Publication Order

  1. What Angels Fear (2005)
  2. When Gods Die (2006)
  3. Why Mermaids Sing (2007)
  4. Where Serpents Sleep (2008)
  5. What Remains of Heaven (2009)
  6. Where Shadows Dance (2011)
  7. When Maidens Mourn (2012)
  8. What Darkness Brings (2013)
  9. Why Kings Confess (2014)
  10. Who Buries the Dead (2015)
  11. When Falcons Fall (2016)
  12. Where the Dead Lie (2017)
  13. Why Kill the Innocent (2018)
  14. Who Slays the Wicked (2019)
  15. Who Speaks for the Damned (2020)
  16. What the Devil Knows (2021)
  17. When Blood Lies (2022)

Standalone Novels In Publication Order

  1. Good Time Coming (2016)

Anthologies In Publication Order

  1. The Deadly Hours (2020)

Sebastian St. Cyr Book Covers

Standalone Novels Book Covers

Anthologies Book Covers

C.S. Harris Books Overview

What Angels Fear

In London, 1811, a young woman is brutally raped and murdered, her body left on the altar steps of an ancient church. The prime suspect: Sebastian St. Cyr, a brilliant young nobleman still haunted by his experiences in the Napoleonic Wars. Now he is running for his life, desperate to catch the killer and prove his innocence. Moving from Mayfair’s glittering ballrooms to St. Giles’s fetid back alleys, Sebastian is assisted by a band of unlikely allies and pursued by a Machiavellian powerbroker with ties to the Prince Regent himself. What Angels Fear seamlessly weaves an intimate knowledge of the period with a multi layered and compelling story, and is the first of a series of novels featuring these characters.

When Gods Die

The young wife of an aging marquis is found murdered in the arms of the Prince Regent. Around her neck lies a necklace said to have been worn by Druid priestesses that is, until it was lost at sea with its last owner, Sebastian St. Cyr’s mother. Now Sebastian is lured into a dangerous investigation of the marchioness’s death and his mother’s uncertain fate.

As he edges closer to the truth and one murder follows another he confronts a conspiracy that imperils those nearest him and threatens to bring down the monarchy.

Why Mermaids Sing

In 1811, murder has jarred London’s elite. The sons of prominent families have been found at dawn in public places, their bodies mutilated and strange objects stuffed into their mouths. Although Sebastian St. Cyr is distracted by his seemingly doomed relationship with actress Kat Boleyn, the oddness of these murders nags at him and he becomes determined to track down the assassin, even at the risk of his own life.

Where Serpents Sleep

Fourth in the moody and atmospheric historical mystery series starring a troubled but compelling antihero. Booklist

London, 1812. The brutal slaughter of eight young prostitutes in a house of refuge near Covent Garden leaves only one survivor and one witness: Hero Jarvis, reform minded daughter of the Prince Regent’s cousin, Lord Jarvis. When the Machiavellian powerbroker quashes any official inquiry that might reveal his daughter s unorthodox presence, Hero launches an investigation of her own and turns to Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, for help.

Working in an uneasy alliance, Hero and Sebastian follow a trail of clues leading from the seedy brothels and docksides of London s East End to the Mayfair mansions of a noble family with dark secrets to hide. Risking both their lives and their reputations, the two must race against time to stop a killer whose ominous plot threatens to shake the nation to its very core.

What Remains of Heaven

Fifth in the ‘fast moving’Publishers Weekly, starred review British set historical mystery series starring ‘a charismatic hero.’Kirkus Reviews starred review

Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, is asked by the Archbishop of Canterbury to help in the investigation of two corpses found in an ancient crypt, their violent deaths separated by decades. One is the Bishop of London, the elderly Archbishop’s favored but controversial successor. The identity of the other seems lost in time.

Sebastian amas*ses a list of suspects that range from some of the Prince Regent’s closest cronies to William Franklin, embittered son of famous American patriot Ben Franklin and finds himself confronting the well guarded secrets of his own family’s history. Now each step he takes toward the killer brings him closer to a devastating truth that could ultimately force him to question who and what he really is.

Where Shadows Dance

Sebastian St. Cyr proves his courage once again, with murder and marriage in a brand new historical mystery. Sebastian St. Cyr finds himself in the realm of international intrigue when he investigates the murder of a foreign office diplomat a murder his reluctant bride to be, Hero Jarvis, knows something about. And when a second body is found, Sebastian must race to unmask a ruthless killer who is now threatening Hero’s life and the life of their unborn child.

When Maidens Mourn

When Gabrielle Tennyson is murdered, aristocratic investigator Sebastian St. Cyr and his new reluctant bride, the fiercely independent Hero Jarvis, find themselves involved in an intrigue concerning the myth of King Arthur, Camelot, and a future poet laureate…

Related Authors

Leave a Comment