C L Moore Books In Order

Baldy Books In Order

  1. Beggars in Velvet (2012)
  2. Baldy (2012)


  1. Earth’s Last Citadel (1943)
  2. The Mask of Circe (1948)
  3. Doomsday Morning (1957)
  4. Jirel of Joiry (1969)
  5. Black Gods and Scarlet Dreams (2002)


  1. C.L. Moore SF Gateway Omnibus (2014)


  1. Judgment Night (1952)
  2. Shambleau (1953)
  3. Northwest of Earth (1954)
  4. No Boundaries (1955)
  5. The Best of C.L. Moore (1976)
  6. Northwest Smith (1981)
  7. Chessboard Planet and Other Stories (1984)
  8. The Challenge From Beyond (1990)
  9. Detour to Otherness (2010)
  10. Fantastic Stories Presents: Science Fiction Super Pack 2 (2018)
  11. The Fantasy Super Pack 2 (2018)

Graphic Novels

  1. Black God’s Kiss (2007)


  1. The Tree of Life (1936)
  2. Absalom (1946)
  3. Lost Paradise (2011)
  4. Endowment Policy (2013)

Baldy Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Omnibus Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Graphic Novels Book Covers

Novellas Book Covers

C L Moore Books Overview

Jirel of Joiry

The fierce, proud, and relentless commander of warriors, standing tall above her enemies and simmering with rage, Jirel bids farewell to the world of treacherous men and walks through a forbidden door into Hell itself in pursuit of freedom, justice, and revenge. Reissue.

Black Gods and Scarlet Dreams

Jirel of Joiry, the first of the great female warriors, the beautiful commander of the strongest fortress in the kingdom, would face any danger to defend her beloved country. She wielded her bright sword against mighty armies, the sinister magic of evil sorcerers and fearsome castles guarded by the dead, even daring to descend into Hell itself…
Northwest Smith, the scarred and weathered outlaw, the legendary hero of the spaceways, forced to confront the terrible mysteries, the terrifying, mythic monsters of the universe…
Jirel of Joiry and Northwest Smith are C.L. Moore’s greatest creations and she used them not only to spin spellbinding tales but also to explore the mysteries of the human psyche.

Judgment Night

Four different worlds. Five different tales of conflict and discovery. All of them the unique visions of science fiction master C.L. Moore, presented here in her first published book — Judgment Night.

Released in 1952 from Gnome Press, Judgment Night collects five Moore novellas from the pages of editor John W. Campbell, Jr.’s Astounding Science Fiction magazine. Chosen by the author herself as the best of her longer-form writing, these stories show a gifted wordsmith working at the height of her talents: ‘Judgment Night‘ first published in August and September, 1943 balances a lush rendering of a future galactic empire with a sober meditation on the nature of power and its inevitable loss; ‘The Code’ July, 1945 pays homage to the classic Faust with modern theories and Lovecraftian dread; ‘Promised Land’ February, 1950 and ‘Heir Apparent’ July, 1950 both document the grim twisting that mankind must undergo in order to spread into the solar system; and ‘Paradise Street’ September, 1950 shows a futuristic take on the old western conflict between lone hunter and wilderness-taming settlers.

Except for ‘Judgment Night,’ all of these pieces were originally published under the pen name Lawrence O’Donnell. Moore’s marriage to fellow author Henry Kuttner yielded both a prodigious amount of collaborative writing and a bewildering variety of pen names. However, it is known that — with a few recognized exceptions — the O’Donnell name was used for work that Moore wrote with a minimum of collaboration if any, and this is reflected in the sole author’s credit that graces this collection.


Shambleau,’ C.L. Moore’s first story, became an instant classic when it appeared in the pages of ‘Weird Tales’ magazine in November, 1933. Not only did it launch Moore’s ‘Northwest Smith’ interplanetary adventure series, but it breathed new life into the vampire genre. Moore would go on to become a frequent and popular contributor to the pulp magazines, alone and in collaboration with her husband, Henry Kuttner.

Northwest of Earth

75th Anniversary Edition! Among the best written and most emotionally complex stories of the Pulp Era, the tales of intergalactic smuggler Northwest Smith still resonate strongly 75 years after their first publication. From the crumbling temples of forgotten gods on Venus to the seedy pleasure halls of old Mars, Northwest Smith blazes a trail through the underbelly of the solar system in 13 action packed stories you won’t soon forget.

Detour to Otherness

In 1961, Ballantine Books published Bypass to Otherness, a paperback collection of some of Henry Kuttner’s and C. L. Moore’s best short stories. Several selections were drawn from Kuttner’s popular series such as the ‘Hogbens’ comedic otherworldly hillbillies living in America, ‘Gallagher Galloway’ scientist who invents technical marvels only when intoxicated, and the ‘Baldies’ stories eventually collected in Mutant. Bypass was projected as the first of three Otherness collections of Kuttner’s short fiction. Return to Otherness followed in 1962 with 8 more stories. And then…
nothing. The third Otherness collection never appeared. Now, almost fifty years later, Haffner Press announces Detour to Otherness: a massive hardcover assembling the contents of both Bypass to Otherness and Return to Otherness, and adding 8 additional stories selected for their scarcity, quality, and sheer entertainment value. Grand Masters Robert Silverberg and Frederik Pohl provide introductory and afterword materials to the book, and the whole affair is decorated with an unpublished painting by Richard Powers. Table of Contents Introduction by Robert Silverberg Bypass to Otherness Cold War Call Him Demon The Dark Angel The Piper’s Son Absalom The Little Things Nothing but Gingerbread Left Housing Problem Return to Otherness See You Later This Is the House The Proud Robot Gallegher Plus The Ego Machine Android The Sky Is Falling Juke Box Detour to Otherness Open Secret All Is Illusion Rite of Passage Baby Face Happy Ending The Children’s Hour Dream’s End Near Miss Afterword by Frederik Pohl

Black God’s Kiss

First published in the pages of Weird Tales in 1934, C.L. Moore’s Jirel of Joiry is the first significant female sword and sorcery protagonist and one of the most exciting and evocative characters the genre has ever known. Published alongside seminal works by H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, the five classic fantasy tales included in this volume easily stand the test of time and often overshadow the storytelling power and emotional impact of stories by Moore’s more famous contemporaries. A seminal work from one of fantasy’s most important authors, Black God’s Kiss is an essential addition to any fantasy library.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment