Boris Karloff Books In Order

Anthologies edited

  1. Tales of Terror (1943)
  2. Boris Karloff Presents Tales of the Frightened (1963)
  3. More Tales of the Frightened (1975)

Anthologies edited Book Covers

Boris Karloff Books Overview

Tales of Terror

‘Are you afraid of the dark? You know perfectly well you are, and you may as well admit it!’ Boris Karloff, from the Introduction. In 1943 a good year for terrors both foreign and domestic beloved acting great Boris Karloff released the stellar hardcover anthology, Tales of Terror. Selected and presented by the Master himself, this collection of vintage ghost stories and strange tales featured renowned writers of the weird such as Bram Stoker and Algernon Blackwood, and included the now acknowledged classics, ‘Beast With Five Fingers,’ ‘The Damned Thing,’ and many others. Karloff’s lengthy introductory essay, written with the elegance, wit and grace that were hallmarks of the man, expounds on his theory of ‘horror’ and ‘terror,’ and provides revealing insights into the psychology and philosophy that he personally brought to the genre, both as anthologist and actor.

Leave a Comment