Barrington J Bayley Books In Order

Soul of the Robot Books In Order

  1. The Soul of the Robot (1974)
  2. The Rod of Light (1958)


  1. Annihilation Factor (1964)
  2. The Star Virus (1964)
  3. Collision Course (1973)
  4. Empire of Two Worlds (1973)
  5. The Fall of Chronopolis (1974)
  6. The Garments of Caean (1976)
  7. The Grand Wheel (1977)
  8. Star Winds (1978)
  9. The Pillars of Eternity (1982)
  10. The Zen Gun (1983)
  11. The Forest of Peldain (1985)
  12. The Great Hydration (2003)
  13. Sinners Of Erspia (2003)



  1. The Knights of the Limits (1971)
  2. The Seed of Evil (1979)
  3. Breaking Windows (2003)
  4. Barrington Bayley SF Gateway Omnibus (2014)
  5. The Astounding Jason Hyde (2022)

Soul of the Robot Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Omnibus Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Barrington J Bayley Books Overview

The Fall of Chronopolis

There is real time…
and there is potential time. By controlling the difference, the Chronotic Empire came into existence and maintained itself over a thousand years of human history. Its Time Fleets, armadas of time travelling fortresses, patrolled its temporal borders relentlessly, blotting out potential time deviations, erasing errors of history that might undermine the empire. But nevertheless the empire’s days were numbered, for somewhere in its own future was the century of the Hegemony, its implacable enemy.

The Grand Wheel

Cheyne Scarne was a gambler…
and he took the big plunge when he bet his life to get to the inner circle of The Grand Wheel. Because the Wheel was the ultimate Syndicate the final Mafia that controlled all that was illegal in all the planets under human control. But Cheyne was not to know whether he had won or lost when he gained his point. Because the Wheel had plans for him. And they made him the historic offer he could not refuse. There was, it seemed, a similar gambling combine in the rest of the galaxy, bigger by far than the little group of stars held by Earthlings. And the Wheel wanted a cut in this. So Cheyne Scarne found himself selected to be humanity’s own player in a game in which nobody knew the value of the cards and the rules of the game were infinitely variable!

Sinners Of Erspia

The Sinners Of Erspia are the inhabitants of a bizarre world, ruled and guided by the hands of Ormazd and Ahriman, twin gods of good and evil. Histrina, a child of Ormazd, is taken by the evil hordes to a camp of terror where she meets Laedo, a man stranded far from home.

Together they start on a hallucinatory journey to understand and escape from the surreal world that holds them prisoner.

This is a novel about the susceptibility of the human mind and how it adapts to the extremes of terror and delight. A novel that could only have escaped from the astounding imagination of Barrington Bayley.

The Knights of the Limits

The Great Short Fiction of Barrington Bayley

Nine brilliant stories of infinite space and alien consciousness, suffused with a sense of wonder…

Breaking Windows

Edited by Luis Rodrigues, Breaking Windows features a well balanced presentation of stories, interviews, and essays from the avant garde Fantastic Metropolis website. Featuring a stunning cover by Hawk Alfredson, Breaking Windows includes such contributors as Michael Moorcock, Jeff VanderMeer, China Mieville, Carol Emshwiller, Andrew S. Fuller, Zoran Zivkovic, Dan Pearlman, John Dodds, Rhys Hughes, Jeffrey Ford, Colin Brush, Barrington Bayley, Rachel Pollack, Aleksandar Gatalica, Nathan Ballingrud, Luis Filipe Silva, Joao Barreiros, L. Timmel Duchamp, James Sallis, Andrew Hedgecock, Jeff Topham, and Paul Witcover.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment