Andrzej Sapkowski Books In Order

The Witcher Books In Publication Order

  1. Blood of Elves (2008)
  2. The Time of Contempt (2013)
  3. Baptism of Fire (2014)
  4. The Tower of Swallows (2016)
  5. Lady of the Lake (2016)
  6. Season of Storms (2018)

Witcher Collections Books In Publication Order

  1. Sword of Destiny (1992)
  2. The Last Wish (1993)

Hussite Trilogy Books In Publication Order

  1. The Tower of Fools (2002)
  2. Warriors of God (2021)

Short Story Collections In Publication Order

  1. The Malady and Other Stories (2013)

The Witcher Book Covers

Witcher Collections Book Covers

Hussite Trilogy Book Covers

Short Story Collections Book Covers

Andrzej Sapkowski Books Overview

Blood of Elves

For more than a hundred years humans, dwarves, gnomes and elves lived together in relative peace. But times have changed, the uneasy peace is over and now the races once again fight each other and themselves: dwarves are killing their kinsmen, and elves are murdering humans and elves, at least those elves who are friendly to humans…
Into this tumultuous time is born a child for whom the witchers of the world have been waiting. Ciri, the granddaughter of Queen Calanthe, the Lioness of Cintra, has strange powers and a stranger destiny, for prophecy names her the Flame, one with the power to change the world for good, or for evil…
Geralt, the witcher of Rivia, has taken Ciri to the relative safety of the Witchers’ Settlement, but it soon becomes clear that Ciri isn’t like the other witchers. As the political situation grows ever dimmer and the threat of war hangs almost palpably over the land, Geralt searches for someone to train Ciri’s unique powers. But someone else has an eye on the young girl, someone who understand exactly what the prophecy means and exactly what Ciri’s power can do. This time Geralt may have met his match.

The Last Wish

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually comes to realise that while some of his quarry are unremittingly vile, vicious grotesques, others are the victims of sin, evil or simple naivety. One reviewer said: ‘This book is a sheer delight. It is beautifully written, full of vitality and endlessly inventive: its format, with half a dozen episodes and intervening rest periods for both the hero and the reader, allows for a huge range of characters, scenarios and action. It’s thought provoking without being in the least dogmatic, witty without descending to farce and packed with swordfights without being derivative. The dialogue sparkles; characters morph almost imperceptibly from semi cliche to completely original; nothing is as it first seems. Sapkowski succeeds in seamlessly welding familiar ideas, unique settings and delicious twists of originality: his Beauty wants to rip the throat out of a sensitive Beast; his Snow White seeks vengeance on all and sundry, his elves are embittered and vindictive. It’s easily one of the best things I’ve read in ages.’

Related Authors

Leave a Comment