Alexei Panshin Books In Order

Anthony Villiers Books In Order

  1. Star Well (1968)
  2. The Thurb Revolution (1968)
  3. Masque World (1969)


  1. Rite of Passage (1968)
  2. Earthmagic (1980)


  1. Farewell to Yesterday’s Tomorrow (1975)
  2. Transmutations (1982)
  3. New Celebrations: The Adventures of Anthony Villiers (2004)

Non fiction

  1. Heinlein in Dimension (1968)
  2. SF in Dimension (1976)
  3. The World Beyond the Hill (1989)

Anthony Villiers Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Collections Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

Alexei Panshin Books Overview

Star Well

A small airless planetoid set deep in the heart of the Flammarion Rift. Due to its location, it is a minor hub of commerce within the Sashuite Empire, and though it is equipped with elegant dining rooms and casinos, luxury suites and expensive shops, Wu and Fabricant’s GUIDEBOOK claims that Star Well is a dull place to visit and that travellers should avoid layovers if they can. But Wu and Fabricant had not been shown the secret baseme*nts, nor told the nature of the things stored there if they had been, they might still have advised against layovers, but not because Star Well was dull. When our hero Anthony Villiers and his Traggish friend Torve arrive on the scene, it soon becomes evident that the truth must out: that Star Well has reached the end of an era…

Rite of Passage

In 2198, one hundred and fifty years after the desperate wars that destroyed an overpopulated Earth, Man lives precariously on a hundred hastily established colony worlds and in the seven giant Ships that once ferried men to the stars. Mia Havero’s Ship is a small closed society. It tests its children by casting them out to live or die in a month of Trial in the hostile wilds of a colony world. Mia Havero’s Trial is fast approaching and in the meantime she must learn not only the skills that will keep her alive but the deeper courage to face herself and her world. Published originally in 1968, Alexei Panshin’s Nebula Award winning classic has lost none of its relevance, with its keen exploration of societal stagnation and the resilience of youth.


In Earth Magic, Alexei and Cory Panshin Hugo winning authors of The World Beyond the Hill create a mysterious world of shifting realities, arcane traditions and memorable characters. Haldane, son of the Get warlord Black Morca must flee for his life through a familiar landscape turned strangely alien, aided by a wizard of uncertain abilities and the hazardous favor of the Goddess Libera. His perilous journey will take him to a final battle amidst the standing stones of power of Stone Heath where he will discover his true destiny. An exciting, thought provoking tale by critically acclaimed and award winning masters of the genre.

Farewell to Yesterday’s Tomorrow

An excellent companion to Alexei Panshin’s novels, Farewell to Yesterday’s Tomorrow collects twelve of his best stories, the last a novella written in collaboration with his wife, Cory. From the universe of the Nebula Award winning Rite of Passage, where the hegemony of advanced ships over primitive worlds engenders complex moral dilemmas, to the first manned exploration of Neptune, to the interstellar quest of a fair lady and a noble beastman to find a home, these engaging fantasies turn the idea of SF as escape on its head, dramatizing how technology may give new expression to empathy and self sacrifice but never replace them. In the afterword from which the collection takes its title, and which the Panshins updated in 2001, they sum up the vision that makes science fiction relevant and important to us all.

The World Beyond the Hill

‘An unbelievably wonderful book’ Isaac Asimov The World Beyond the Hill is a unique book a story about stories. It tells not only where science fiction came from and how it got that way, but what science fiction means. Science fiction has been the myth of modern times. The World Beyond the Hill is the tale of that myth from Frankenstein to Galactic Empire. By setting forth this evolving story, The World Beyond the Hill sheds light not only on what modern culture has been thinking and doing, but where we are going next and what we need to become. The World Beyond the Hill won a non fiction Hugo Award in competition with books by Arthur C. Clarke, Harlan Ellison, Ursula LeGuin and Robert Heinlein

Related Authors

Leave a Comment