Adrienne Kress Books In Order

Explorers Books In Order

  1. The Door in the Alley (2017)
  2. The Reckless Rescue (2018)
  3. The Quest for the Kid (2019)

Bendy and the Ink Machine Books In Order

  1. Dreams Come to Life (2019)
  2. The Lost Ones (2021)
  3. Employee Handbook (2019)
  4. The Illusion of Living (2021)

Novels

  1. Alex and the Wigpowder Treasure (2007)
  2. Timothy and the Dragon’s Gate (2009)
  3. The Friday Society (2012)
  4. Outcast (2013)
  5. Hatter Madigan: Ghost in the Hatbox (2016)

Explorers Book Covers

Bendy and the Ink Machine Book Covers

Novels Book Covers

Adrienne Kress Books Overview

Alex and the Wigpowder Treasure

Fans of Lemony Snicket, Harriet the Spy, and Alice in Wonderland will love this witty, magical fantasy and its unforgettable tomboy heroine.

A smart, funny mixture of fantasy and high adventure, Alex and the Ironic Gentleman tells the story of Alex Morningside, an inquisitive ten-and-a-half-year-old girl who lives with her uncle above a doorknob shop. A student at the prestigious Wigpowder-Steele Academy, Alex is often mistaken for a boy because of her bowl haircut, but that’s okay — she has an excellent sense of humor.

Alex hates Wigpowder-Steele because as much as she enjoys learning, she doesn’t enjoy wearing a uniform with a skirt. She also doesn’t enjoy her teachers, who are all very old and smell funny and don’t seem to know about any of the developments that have happened in the world in the last thirty years. And she most definitely does not enjoy her peers, who are quite simply ridiculous. However, that’s okay, too, because her peers don’t enjoy her much either. Luckily for Alex, the new school year brings an exciting new teacher. Mr. Underwood makes lessons fun and teaches her how to fence. But Mr. Underwood has a mysterious family secret — the swashbuckling and buried treasure kind — and not everyone is glad he has come to Wigpowder-Steele.

When the pirates of a ship called The Ironic Gentleman kidnap her beloved teacher, Alex sets off on a through-the-looking-glass journey to rescue him, along the way encountering a steady stream of hilarious and colorful characters, including one Captain Magnanimous, Coriander the Conjurer, and the Extremely Ginormous Octopus. Funny, charming, and ultimately tender, Alex and the Ironic Gentleman ends with a twist that readers will find as heartwarming as it is surprising.

Timothy and the Dragon’s Gate

Timothy Freshwater’s father can t control him, his mother is always out of town, and now the boy too smart for his own good has been expelled from the last school in the city. After he meets Mr. Shen, a mysterious Chinese mailroom clerk at his father s office, Timothy winds up in more trouble than he has ever gotten himself into.

It turns out the diminutive Mr. Shen is a dragon. Forced to take human shape for a thousand years, Mr. Shen cannot resume his true form until he scales an ancient Dragon s Gate during a festival for the 125th year of the dragon. Now Timothy finds himself Mr. Shen s latest keeper: stalked by a ninja, and chased by a menacing trio of black taxicabs. And when Mr. Shen falls into the wrong hands, Timothy must rescue the dragon from a fleet of Chinese pirate junks. All hope seems lost until a strange looking black brig with red sails called the Ironic Gentleman appears on the horizon. Relying on his own ingenuity and an annoying new ally, a girl called Alex, Timothy must take on the fleet and its evil commander, the Man in the Beige Linen Suit. Told in Adrienne Kress s distinctive, sparkling prose, Timothy and the Dragon s Gate is a humorous and astounding story about a boy who ultimately uncovers his own ability to love and opens his heart to the world around him.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment