A J Verdelle Books In Order


  1. The Good Negress (1995)
  2. Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch (2018)

Non fiction

  1. Miss Chloe (2022)

Novels Book Covers

Non fiction Book Covers

A J Verdelle Books Overview

The Good Negress

Harold D. Vursell Award, American Academy of Arts and Letters. The year is 1963 and young Denise Palms has rejoined her family in Detroit where she must work to make a place for herself and prepare for the arrival of her mother’s new baby. The baby will mean the end of Denise’s afterschool lessons with a stern teacher who insists that Denise learn to speak ‘proper’ English to make herself heard. Verdelle’s intuition and ear allow her to dramatize precise moments of Denise’s self recognition and, in the process, offer an inside look at a maturing intelligence. The Good Negress marks the arrival of an original voice in contemporary fiction. ‘Truly extraordinary.’ Toni Morrison. A QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOK CLUB selection.

Related Authors

Leave a Comment